Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kanopy and Films on Demand are streaming video services which provide access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
Provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content. Included is footage of speeches and debates, as well as historical newsreels and contemporary news coverage.
Films streamed on Kanopy are provided to the Puget Sound community for classroom and educational purposes only. Films that have been licensed for use by the University of Puget Sound are immediately available on the Kanopy platform. If a film has not been licensed for use, you may submit a Kanopy request form and the library will consider the request.
Search for films by title, subject, keywords, or browse by subject. Register with Kanopy to utilize features such as playlists, clips, sharing, embedding, and creating a watch list for future viewing.
New York Times - Technology News
Current News Coverage
One of the best places to look for varying opinions about controversial topics is in the opinion and editorial columns of newspapers. The library provides access to many news resources.
Tip: Try searching by the terms "editorials" or "opinions" and a key word that best describes your topic.
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national news sources including newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Nexis also covers regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources.
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 70 national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for 376 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources includingThe Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review. Featured is national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage begins in 1980.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
The simplest way to search for editorials is to add the term "editorials" or "opinions" to your keyword search. For instance, in the database Newspaper Source you can search: "cyberbullying" and editorial
Often databases will also provide pre-set limiters that can be chosen before you enter your search terms. In Newspaper Source you also could have chosen a Document Type limiter of Editorial. Then searched by the keyword "cyberbullying."
One of the best sources for editorials is Nexis Uni. Nexis covers many more newspapers than other resources. It's also a great source for foreign newspapers, both written in English and in other languages.
In Nexis choose to search "News" and combine your keywords with "editorials" or "opinions."