Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI1-124: Utopia/Dystopia: Finding Books and Articles

What Should I Search?

What database or catalog should I search?  The answer to that question depends on many factors:
 

  • What does the assignment ask you to do?
  • What kind of source do you need?  Must it be a scholarly article, or could it be a book?
  • When do you need the source?  Do you need it now, or could you wait a few days for it to arrive?

Here are some options for this class:

Primo:  This is a discovery tool shared by all of the Orbis-Cascade Alliance (SUMMIT) libraries.  It includes print books, ebooks, selected articles from databases like JSTOR, DVDs, musical scores, government documents and much more.  This is a good choice when you just want to survey what's out there, or when you need a specific item, and when you have a few days to wait in case Collins Library doesn't have what you need and you need to request it from SUMMIT.

America: History and Life:  This is a subject database for American history.  A subject database indexes just about all scholarly literature (books, articles, chapters in books) in that field.  For journal articles, you'll need to click on "check for full text" to find out if Collins Library has or provides access to that journal.

JSTOR and Project Muse:  These are ejournal collections, meaning that they provide the full text of articles of selected journals.  JSTOR is an archive and does not include current literature.  Project Muse does not include deep backfiles.

Search Primo

Deciphering Citations

When you're looking for a specific resource--what librarians call "known item searching"--it helps to know how and what to search.

Here are three examples:

Book:

Kern, Louis J.  Sex Roles and Sexuality in Victorian Utopias--The Shakers, the Mormons, and the Oneida Community.  Chapel Hill: University of North Carolina Press, 1981.

For the item above, you'll search Primo by the title of the bookSex Roles and Sexuality in Victorian Utopias--The Shakers, the Mormons, and the Oneida Community

Chapter in a book:

Klee-Hartzell, Marlyn.  "Family Love, True Womanliness, Motherhood, and the Socialization of Girls in the Oneida Community, 1848-1880," in Women in Spiritual and Communitarian Societies in the United States, ed. Wendy E. Chmielewski, Louis J. Kern, and Marlyn Klee-Hartzell (Syracuse: Syracuse University Press, 1993), 182-200.

For the item above, you'll search Primo by the title of the book, Women in Spiritual and Communitarian Societies, NOT the title of the chapter, "Family Love..."

Journal Article:

Guarneri, Carl J.  "Reconstructing the Antebellum Communitarianism Movement:  Oneida and Fourierism," Journal of the Early Republic 16 (Fall 1996): 463-88.

For the item above, you'll search Primo Journal by the title of the journal, Journal of the Early Republic, NOT the title of the article, "Reconstructing the Antebellum..."