Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searchable News Databases
Full-text coverage of five core newspapers; The New York Times including The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine; Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal Online; Washington Post; Los Angeles Times; and The Christian Science Monitor
Full text for newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press. Not a specifically local or regional source but includes news articles about local area stories.
US West Newsstream
West Newsstream covers news sources from Alaska, California, Hawaii, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, and Washington.
Washington State Newspapers
A select list of links to newspapers published in Washington State, courtesy of the Washington State Library. Links lead directly to website of the newspaper in question.
Seattle Radio Station with news & information: local affiliate of National Public Radio (NPR) and the British Broadcasting Corporation (BBC).
Searching for Stakeholders Online
- Brainstorm who your stakeholders are! Think about government agencies, tribes, political organizations, educational organizations, religious organizations...
- Not all media is indexed by library databases: check for independent websites for radio and TV stations, and use their search functions.
- Example: KIRO 7 (found by searching "Seattle Tacoma TV stations")
- Check for social media accounts (Does the group you're interested in have a Facebook page? Twitter? Instagram?) and then see who they are following!
Potential Stakeholder Resources
Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission
The Northwest Indian Fisheries Commission (NWIFC) is a support service organization for 20 treaty Indian tribes in western Washington to assist them in their role as natural resources co-managers. Check their publications, such as the "State of our Watersheds" report and their "Annual Report."
Washington Tribes Natural Resources Programs
This website is focused on the 29 Washington state tribes, and their work with the natural resources in our state.
Long Live the Kings
Long Live the Kings (LLTK) is a public 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization committed to restoring wild salmon and steelhead to the waters of the Pacific Northwest.