Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Study Abroad - Library Resources for Students: Articles

Resources for University of Puget Sound Students Studying Abroad

Searching for articles

Search for and identify useful articles from popular and scholarly periodical sources using one or more of the over 100 library online databases.  The best place to identify appropriate databases is in a Library Subject Guide related to your research topic.  If you already know the name of a particular database you want, you can check our Databases A-Z list.

Articles can come from scholarly journals, popular magazines, trade publications, and newspapers.  Some of our databases concentrate more on scholarly sources and some cover both scholarly and popular sources.  

Some of the subject guides may not only link to the databases themselves, but also to guides on how to use a particularly complicated database on a subject within that guide.   Also, database help guides should be listed under their related subject.  

 

Getting Full-Text

Once you have located the citation to a source, you will want to obtain the actual article in full text.  There are multiple methods for obtaining the actual articles you wish to read:

Method 1:  Full-text within the database you are searching.
In some databases, you will be able to link directly to the full-text article. Usually there will be a link that says "full-text", "full-text PDF", "full-text html",  or simply an icon.   If given the choice between a PDF or HTML version of the article, always choose the PDF format. This will give you an exact image, including page numbers, of the article as it appears in the paper journal.  This will make things much easier when it comes time to cite the work. 

Method 2:  Check for full-text.
If a direct link to full text is not available within the database you are searching it could be that the library still has access to it.  To find out, click the "Check for full text' link which, in most instances, is directly linked from within each database. 

In Primo, when you pull up the record for the periodical, note carefully the "View It" section, which can be reached by scrolling down.  This section tells you the years and volumes that are available for that journal and in what form it is available. Periodical (journal) issues can be in paper, microfilm, microfiche, or electronic full-text formats.  If Primo indicates that full text is available online, a link will be provided. 

On occasion you will have a citation to an article from a bibliography or another print source.  In this case you can go directly to the Primo catalog without first searching a database and just type in the name of the journal.  Again, if the full-text is available online, a link will be provided.

Type the name of a journal in the Primo search box to find out if Collins Library has the full text.

  

Method 3:  Request that Collins Library scan and email a copy of a paper, microfilm, or microfiche article.
If the periodical is available only in paper, microfilm, or microfiche, you can request that we scan a copy for you and email it to you. Because this is a labor intensive process, we ask that you limit your requests to reasonable amounts.  Request scans via ILL, the interlibrary loan service.


Method 4: Request a copy from another library via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
If Primo indicates that the article is not available in any format from Collins Library, then request the article through ILL, the interlibrary loan service. ( Most databases include links to ILL within each record.) It usually takes about a week or less to receive an electronic copy of the article.

How to Request an Article for Methods 3 and Method 4:
Login to your ILL account to submit your request.  

https://3108.account.worldcat.org/profile

  • When filling out the ILL form, please add the phrase "Study Abroad" to the comments field.
  • If you request an article written in a language other than English, please type in the name of the acceptable language in the comments field.