Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Latin America Resources
An Atlas and Survey of Latin American History
Makes the human and physical geography and the social, cultural, political, and economic history of Latin America accessible in sixty-eight clearly drawn maps and accompanying text.
COHA - Council on Hemispheric Affairs
An independent research and information organization established to promote the common interests of the hemisphere, raise the visibility of regional affairs and increase the importance of the inter-American relationship, as well as encourage the formulation of rational and constructive U.S. policies towards Latin America.
Dictionary of American History
This authoritative work serves students, scholars, and general readers interested in a wide range of topics in American history, from the well studied and familiar to the obscure.
Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy
Essays by subject experts treat concepts and doctrines, policymaking, commerce and science, human rights and arms control, with specific articles on topics ranging from anti-imperialism to environmental diplomacy, from refugee policies to terrorism and countermeasures.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History & Culture
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
Encyclopedia of U.S. - Latin American Relations
A comprehensive Encyclopedia featuring entries detailing the political, economic and military interconnections between the United States and the countries of Latin America, including Mexico and the nations in Central America, the Caribbean and South America.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
The Handbook is a bibliography on Latin America consisting of works selected and annotated by scholars.
lanic - Latin American Network Information Center
The Latin American Network Information Center (LANIC) is affiliated with the Lozano Long Institute of Latin American Studies at the University of Texas at Austin. LANIC's mission is to facilitate access to Internet-based information to, from, or on Latin America.
WOLA - Washington Office on Latin America
Founded in 1974 by a coalition of civil society and religious leaders with the objective of promoting respect for human rights, democracy and social and economic justice as definitive elements of U.S. policy towards Latin America and the Caribbean.
Public Opinion: International
Chicago Council on Global Affairs
One of the oldest international affairs organizations in the United States. Known for its studies of American public opinion on foreign policy, the Council has expanded its contributions to national and international discussions on issues such as migration, agricultural development and food security, and energy and climate change.
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
A collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Based at Vanderbilt University, LAPOP is a leader in the development, implementation, and analysis of public opinion surveys. Since the 1970s, LAPOP has gathered a treasure-trove of databases containing political perspectives from Latin America.
An annual public opinion survey that involves 18 Latin American countries produced by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a nonprofit organization based in Santiago Chile. Summaries of the survey are available for free, and the data is available through ICPSR.
World Public Opinion
An international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. The site is managed by the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland
World Values Survey
A worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life in collaboration with the European Values Study. Representative national samples of each society’s public are interviewed, using a standardized questionnaire that measures changing values concerning religion, gender roles, work motivations, democracy, good governance, social capital, political participation, tolerance of other groups, environmental protection and subjective wellbeing. Five waves of surveys have been executed since 1981. Alternative access: ICPSR.
International Statistics & Data
World Development Indicators
Data and statistics from the World Bank, covering social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental development indicators.
Selected statistics by country from the World Bank.
Statistical extracts; includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
U.S. Census International Data Base (IDB)
International statistics provided by the United States Census Bureau
Statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use, production, prices, and population, from the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization.
Numerous statistics culled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, UNESCO, etc. Statistics can be explored and graphed using the site's correlation tool.
United Nations Statistics & Data
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea