Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Medieval Studies Journals
Use scholarly journals like these for your research. Copy and paste the journal title into Primo advanced search and change material type to journals to determine which databases provide access to the journal.
- Art Bulletin
- Art History
- Dumbarton Oaks Papers (read on Jstor)
- Journal of Medieval History
- Medieval Archaeology
Open Access Journals
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use our interlibrary loan service.
You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.
Once you have an account, either go directly to interlibrary loan and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form.
Allot at least 10 days for the article to arrive. Most of the time the article is delivered in electronic format and you'll receive an email with a link.
Database Search Tips
Number 1 Search Tip:
Use Advanced Search and limit features whenever possible. Subset limits, date limits, citation searches, subject searches, etc. are all useful timesavers.
More Search Tips:
- Avoid long phrases.
- Use AND to find all the words on your topic.
- Use OR to find any of the words on your topic.
- The symbol * is used as a right hand truncation character in most databases; it will find all forms of a word.
Too MUCH Information?
- Use more specific words.
- Narrow your search by adding more words connecting them with AND.
- Do a subject search instead of a keyword search.
- Put phrases in quotation marks.
Too LITTLE Information?
- Try different search words, including synonyms, broader terms, or related words.
- Use the truncation symbol * to get all forms of a word.
- Try a different database.
Databases to Search
Search these databases to find articles and more!
International Medieval Bibliography
Call Number: Online Access
Only available on campus
Scope is from Late Antiquity to the Late Middle Ages (300-1500)
Medieval literature and texts
Area, power and religion
Signs, forms et representations
Territories, monuments and techniques
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Art Full Text
Offers full text plus abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, including coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism.
Art Index Retrospective
Citations to English-language periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins, as well as periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch. Covers the years 1929 to 1984.
Bibliography of the History of Art
Indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA)
Coverage spans European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Topics include visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.
Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Covers religion and may be useful for topics related to religion and art
Humanities International Complete
Access to Humanities International Complete will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after April 30, 2021.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
MLA International Bibliography
Especially useful for illuminated manuscripts, book covers, textiles
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
A database of French texts, covering time periods from medieval to the 20th century and subjects of literary criticism, biology, history, economics and philosophy.
Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research.
A useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.