Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Theatre 373: Actors: Write & Cite

This page is intended for Puget Sound students enrolled in Professor Freeman's course. It serves as a starting point for the actor research and presentation assignment.

MLA Style

 

For this course, you are required to use the Modern Language Association (MLA) style, a system of documentation that is widely used in the humanities. It uses parenthetical citations in the text and a list of works cited at the end of the paper.

MLA publishes a guide called MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers for students writing and documenting academic work. The library has multiple copies which are listed in Primo and are shelved on the main floor.

The library has also developed a quick reference sheet which includes examples of the most common sources used in academic work.

Additionally, there are many great online sites that will assist you in interpreting and utilizing the various citation styles.  Here is one to be aware of.

Purdue OWL: MLA Formatting and Style Guide

Refworks

Use RefWorks to keep track of all your citations, then easily create bibliographies. Most databases let you add articles and books to your RefWorks account with just a few clicks!

Login to RefWorks (first-time users need to create an account).

It's up to you to make sure that the RefWorks output matches the latest requirements of the style, and that no data is missing.

RefWorks can also help with your in-text citations. Download the add-in called Write-N-Cite, specifically created to insert references from RefWorks as you are typing in Microsoft Word.

Annotated Bibliography: Definition & Purpose

An annotated bibliography is a summary and evaluation of sources used. It may also include works you consulted during the research process but did not use.

Keep in  mind that an abstract is not an annotation. An abstract is a summary of the source.

Why write an annotated bibliography?

  • Keeps track of source materials consulted
  • Lets the reader know what you have found
  • Demonstrates your ability to critically evaluate sources within the context of a topic

Anatomy of an Annotated Bibliography

An Annotated Bibliography consists of these parts:

  • Complete citation
  • Summary
  • Evaluation
  • Reflection

Write the annotation in complete sentences. If you quote text from the source, you must cite it.  The average length of an annotation is about 100-150 words (about 7-10 sentences).