Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI2-105: Imagining the American West: Subject Encyclopedias

Why Use Subject Encyclopedias?

Encyclopedias and other reference resources are excellent places to start your research. An hour spent with one or more subject encyclopedias early on in the research process will save you hours of wasted time! Subject encyclopedias, handbooks and overviews are scholarly, tertiary works written by experts on a variety of topics. The articles are typically longer and more detailed than those found in general encyclopedias. You usually can expect to find the following important information in articles in subject encyclopedias:

  • broad overview of a topic that is more in-depth than in general encyclopedias
  • Discussion of how scholars have approached, explored, and debated the topic over time (historiography)
  • Words, phrases, names, dates, and events that can be used as keywords when searching a database
  • Bibliographies in articles to find other sources (both primary and secondary)
  • Cross-references to find related topics

 

Practical information:

  • There's a subject encyclopedia for just about any topic; if you can't find an article that works for you in one of the subject encyclopedias below, just email Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian, or ask one of our Peer Research Advisors, for suggestions.
  • Use the index (for print encyclopedias) or the keyword search (for online encyclopedias).  This will help you identify instances when the discussion of your specific topic is embedded within a larger discussion.
  • Explore articles on a single topic in multiple subject encyclopedias.  For example, articles on the railroad will have different emphases in subject encyclopedias devoted to Native Americans, Immigration, or Public Relations.  Oftentimes these differences can lead to interesting research questions!
  • Print encyclopedias are located in the reference section on the first floor of the library; you can't take them outside of the library, but you're welcome to use one of the scanners in the Learning Commons to make a copy of the pages you need.
  • Online encyclopedias can be accessed from any computer with Internet access; if you are located off-campus, be sure to use the links provided on the library's website so that you'll be prompted to enter your University of Puget Sound username and password.

Featured Subject Encyclopedias

The subject encyclopedias listed here are good starting points, but you also should explore the entries in the Gale, Sage, and Oxford online collections.

Featured Tertiary Source

Online Subject Encyclopedia Collections

Not sure where to look?  Each of these online collections will introduce you to a wealth of dictionaries and encyclopedias.

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.