Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI2-170: Space, Place and Values: Articles & More

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Practice

Group 1: Search the art related databases for sources about Andy Goldsworthy and note the information below.

Group 2: Search Research Library for sources about Andy Goldsworthy and note the information below.

Note the following:

  • amount of information
  • subjects covered
  • types of sources, e.g., popular/scholary, primary/secondary

Art Related Databases from Ebsco

Type your keywords in the search box to retrieve articles from these Ebsco databases:

  • Academic Search Premier: An interdisciplinary database that includes coverage of journals in the arts and humanities. Some of the articles are full text.
  • Art Full Text: Includes citations and full text to art journals, magazines, and newspapers since 1984.
  • Art Index Retrospective: Provides citations to art research and news published between 1929 and 1984
  • Humanities International: Includes full text for more than 890 journals  covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.

Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary finding aids.

Note: If you need discipline-specific resources, it is better to use the recommended subject databases under the "articles" tab in the library subject guides

Magazine & Newspaper Articles

Search for magazine and newspaper articles here.

In addition to using the search box below, try these three newspaper databases

  • National Newspapers Core
    • The National Newspapers Core contains access, from the early 1980s forward, to The New York Times including The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine, the Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal Online, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor.
  • LexisNexis Academic
    • Access to over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep back-files and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources. 
  • New York Times
    • Members of the Puget Sound community may register, with their campus email address, for access to the New York Times web site which provides you with 24 hours of access to NYTimes.com and the NYTimes apps each time you log-on.  Once registered, you may log-on to claim a ‘seat’ for 24 hours per session.  Up to 108 users may have access at the same time.

Environmental Database

GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. The database provides indexing and abstracts for approximately 538,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 5,800 records.

Database Search Tips

When search databases, keep these techniques in mind.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

   "land art" finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get land and art

Add more words when terms may be ambiguous or you want to narrow your search.

   "land art"  and desert

Use OR to find related terms.

  "land art" or "earth works"

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

   monument* finds monument or monuments or monumental, etc.