LibGuides: STS 325: Highway to History: Find Articles

Additional Subject-Specific Databases

Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It's a good place to find some scholarly math articles, and many popular mathematics articles.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Historical Abstracts
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
PAIS Index
Subjects covered include global public policy and social issues including culture and religion, human rights, labor policy, media, politics, transportation and more.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for journals that cover political science, international relations, and law.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Covers journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study.
PubMed
This premier scholarly biomedical database can also be a good source for the history of medicine, such as the history of car accidents or seatbelt use. Look to the right of the simple search box and click the 'Advanced Search' link. Scroll down to "Limit by topics, languages, and journal groups". Look for the box "Subsets", and check the box for "History of Medicine." Then do your search!
GreenFILE
GreenFILE offers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Multidisciplinary by nature, GreenFILE draws on the connections between the environment and a variety of disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technolog
Business Source Premier
Major source for business & finance research. Includes news, magazines, and scholarly articles as well as country, company, and industry profiles.

Historical Newspapers

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
From the Library of Congress a searchable database of U.S. newspapers with descriptive information and select digitization of historic pages.
Historic Newspapers in Washington State
A digitized and indexed collection of historic newspapers from the Washington State Library. Coverage begins in 1852, and covers Washington's territorial and early statehood periods.

Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1995)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper. Date coverage is 1881 to 1989.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2007).
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S.
The Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.

Popular Media Primary Sources

US Newsstream
The National Newspapers Core contains access, from the early 1980s forward, to The New York Times including The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine, the Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal Online, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. Dates back to 1980.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982
Contains comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States. Use this direct to toward primary sources published in magazines, newspapers, etc from 1890-1982 in the US.
Films on Demand - Archival Films & Newsreels Collection
Contains hundreds of primary source video clips of cars and transportation of all eras.

Key database: JSTOR

JSTOR contains thousands of full-text articles from journals across the sciences, humanities, and social sciences, and in particular is known for providing online access to extensive archives of back issues of journals, and as such is particularly helpful for historical research. Click here or use the search box below

Key Database: HSTM

The History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM) is the definitive international bibliographic database for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. It includes materials published until 1975; for works published prior to 1975, check the Isis Cumulative Bibliography. Click here to search this database!

STS Research in Google Scholar

Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research. See below for best practices for using Google Scholar.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.