Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Europa World Plus Online
Online version of the Europa World Yearbook, covering political and economic information from over 250 countries and territories. Includes comparative statistical information, directories and maps.
U.S. State Department Country Information
Contains country information including people, history, government, political conditions, economy, foreign relations, U.S. relations, travel and business.
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the political science field, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these e-journal collections.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Search Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for journals that cover political science, international relations, and law. Also includes full text of reference books and conference papers.
Recommended Databases for Politics & Governement
CIAO - Columbia International Affairs Online
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. Includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from NGOs, foundation-funded research projects, proceedings from conferences, books, journals and policy briefs.
Provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources including: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, patents, legal opinions and federal & state court opinions.
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
Provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers and more, including deep indexing and full text from many important social science journals
Hot Topics & Opposing Viewpoints
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Access to Opposing Viewpoints in Context will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after June 25, 2021.
Full-text collection of news, opinion, reference, and academic journal articles designed to provide a variety of perspectives on controversial issues.
Full-text reports that cover background, main issues, pro/con, next steps, and further reading. Use the Issue Tracker to find related CQ reports and track an issue over time.
TOPICsearch (Current Events)
A current events database that allows researchers to explore social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics including controversial opinions and viewpoints.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea