Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The simplest way to search for editorials is to add the term "editorials" to your keyword search. For instance, in the database Newspaper Source you can search: "panama canal" and editorial
Often databases will also provide pre-set limiters that can be chosen before you enter your search terms. In Newspaper Source you also could have chosen a Document Type limiter of Editorial. Then searched by the keywords "Panama Canal."
One of the best sources for editorials is Nexis Uni. Nexis covers many more newspapers than other resources. It's also a great source for foreign newspapers, both written in English and in other languages.
In Nexis choose to search "News" and combine your keywords with "editorials" or "opinions."
Current News Coverage
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national news sources including newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Nexis also covers regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for over 70 national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for 376 regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources includingThe Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
In order to register from off-campus you may utilize vDesk. Technology Services provides information on utilizing vDesk: https://www.pugetsound.edu/about/offices-services/technology-services/vdesk-2/
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
And search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review. Featured is national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage begins in 1980.
Search the most recent U.S. news content, featuring newspapers, newswires, blogs, and news sites in active full-text format. Offers exclusive access to the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, and co-exclusive access (with Factiva) to The Wall Street Journal. US Newsstream also offers one of the largest collections of local and regional newspapers.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
Full text newspapers, magazines and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Focus is on local ethnic preses and their related arts, business, education, environment, history, journalism, political science and sociology news. Covers communities from across the US.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea