Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2008
Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Covers cultural issues and includes numerous biographical profiles of important figures in politics, letters and the arts.
South America Central America and the Caribbean 2011 by
Call Number: F 1401 S68 2011 Print Reference (first floor of library)
Publication Date: 2011
The book is divided into three sections: General Survey: Introductory articles by leading authorities cover issues of regional importance. Country Surveys: Individual chapters on each country Regional Information: Includes a directory of research institutes specializing in the region and bibliographies of books and periodicals covering Latin America and the Caribbean.
Not sure where to start?
Not sure where to look? Each of these online collections will introduce you to a wealth of dictionaries and encyclopedias.
Collection of dozens of encyclopedias and other Gale reference works in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Includes over 100 specialized Oxford dictionaries, encyclopedias, and handbooks.
Selection of subject encyclopedias published by Sage; especially strong in the social sciences.
Resources for "Hot Topics"
Reports explore a single issue in the news in depth each week. Reports include an introductory overview; background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; pro/con statements from representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources.
Opposing Viewpoints In Context
Brings together information on current social issues. Features viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine, academic journal and newspaper articles, primary source documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to selected websites.