Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ILLiad: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use ILLiad, our interlibrary loan service.
You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.
Once you have an account, either go directly to ILLiad and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.
Recommended Subject Databases
For topics related to the Mexican-American borderlands, the following databases are most likely to be useful.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Scholarly articles written from a sociological framework.
Spanish-language scholarly articles.
Indexes resources on public affairs and policy, with an international scope.
Political Science Complete
Provides full text, and indexing and abstracts, for many journal titles with a worldwide focus reflecting the globalization of contemporary political discourse. The database also features full-text reference books and monographs, and full-text conference papers, including those of the International Political Science Association.
Combined Database Search: HA and AHL
This combined search box covers world history, including the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. You may wish to search both databases because border history can be found in each, depending on the focus of the article.