Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LATINA/O STUDIES: SUBJECT GUIDE: Getting Started

Research starting points for Latina/o Studies

Background Information

Print reference books are located on the first floor of Collins Library.

Research Strategies for Latina/o Studies

Flexibility and persistence are very much needed characteristics as you pursue your research projects in Latina/o Studies! Here are a few general principles to keep in mind as you work on your research:

  • You will need to work with multiple databases from multiple disciplinary perspectives;
  • You will need to search databases using multiple terms for the same people: Latino, Hispanic, Chicano, Mexican-American, etc.
  • You may need to work with primary sources that are created and disseminated outside of the mainstream academic publishing models.
  • Please don't hesitate to ask for research help! Contact Katy Curtis to ask quick questions via email or to schedule an appointment.

Oxford Encyclopedias

Oxford Language Dictionaries Online

Oxford DictionariesOxford Dictionaries includes additional resources and tools for learning the Spanish language, including an extensive library of letter templates, vocabulary games, and cultural information.

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks

Gale eBooks includes the full text of over 100 subject encyclopedias spanning multiple disciplines. It encompasses content relevant to several aspects of Latina/o Studies, including cinema, history, literature, food and culture, and the arts.

Introductions to Latina/o Studies

Not sure where to start? Browse these resources to see what's happening in the world of Latina/o Studies.

What's a tertiary source?

Tertiary sources are excellent starting points!  They consist of information synthesized from primary and secondary sources.  Examples include:

  • Almanacs
  • Chronologies
  • Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
  • Directories
  • Fact books
  • Guidebooks
  • Indexes, abstracts, bibliographies used to locate primary and secondary sources
  • Manuals
  • Textbooks

These resources give you succinct overviews of your topic, explain scholarly arguments, point out interesting questions, and refer you to especially key sources. 

Cambridge Histories

The Cambridge Histories series is an indispensable reference collection with over 300 titles spanning 15 subject areas, including literary studies. Each (often multi-volume) history provides a big-picture perspective of its subject, introduces readers to existing scholarship, and proposes new trends in the field. 

Language, Literature, and the Arts

Additional Online Reference Resources

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.