Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These databases provide access to many journals in the field of Latina/o Studies, but they are limited in scope and coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Search to access the materials in these collections.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Covering more than 160 subject areas, ProQuest Central is a large aggregated database of periodical content. It features a diversified mix of content including scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, books, newspapers, reports and videos.
Because of the interdisciplinary nature of Latina/o Studies, there are many databases that may be useful to utilize for your research. Listed here are just a few. Be sure to also check the subject pages for the disciplines whose approaches may provide unique insight into your topic.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Gender Studies Database
Scholarly work with a focus on gender matters.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center is a full-text database of author biographies, selected literary criticism and reviews, and topic overviews. Some literary texts are also available. Includes English and Spanish-language materials.
MLA International Bibliography
The MLA International Bibliography indexes all aspects of literary and language studies. Search this database to find books, essays and articles on Hispanic literature, language, folklore, and film.
FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Contains article citations from academic and popular film journals covering film history, theory, and criticism.
Covers topics including art, classical studies, dance, film, journalism, philosophy, religion and much more.
PRISMA Database (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas)
Scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America and the Caribbean Basin. Content is available in Spanish, Portuguese and English.
A collection of scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents and case studies.
MedicLatina is a Spanish language collection of medical research and investigative journals published by Latin American medical publishers.
Political Science Complete
Scholarly work from a political science perspective.
Covers literature in psychology, including the related disciplines of medicine, psychiatry, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
Offers coverage of sociology, encompassing all sub-disciplines, related areas of study, including topics such as abortion, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, and more.
Scholarly work by and of interest to sociologists.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
How to Search for Spanish Language Material in Databases
Depending on the database, there are a few strategies to find resources written in Spanish:
- conduct your search in English and then, once you have a list of results, click on the Search Options and then from the Language list, select Spanish.
- search using Spanish search terms.
- locate the Thesaurus or Subject Terms and appropriate Spanish terms.
Be aware of databases that auto correct Spanish words to similar English words.
Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan
If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option for getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.
Tipasa is linked to your library account so you'll need to log in to use it.
Once you are logged in, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:
Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived.