Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Opinion: United States
Exit Polls: Surveying the American Electorate, 1972-2010 by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2012
This reference work explores the trends in longitudinal variables asked in the national Election Day exit polls from their beginning in 1972 to the present. The book documents comparable survey items that have appeared in multiple exit polls over time. It present more than 100 tables and 100 figures showing the changes in the electorate and its voting patterns over time. This work represents the first time exit poll data has been combined over time to show trends.
American National Election Studies (ANES)
Produces high quality data on voting, public opinion, and political participation to serve the research needs of social scientists, teachers, students, policy makers and journalists who want to better understand the theoretical and empirical foundations of national election outcomes.
Gallup Daily News provides insight into the political, economic, and social issues of the moment. Access to the Gallup Poll Briefing from 2006 to present is also available online, and historical editions of The Gallup Poll can be found in the library.
Harris Interactive Vault
Allows you to explore over forty years of insight released by The Harris Poll in their new Harris Vault archive. Utilize the search function to uncover data spanning subject matter and industry – dating back to The Harris Poll’s inception in 1963.
The Marist Institute for Public Opinion regularly measures public opinion at the local, state, and national level. Topics include politics, money, family, spirituality, mind and body, sports, entertainment, and more. Includes links to other national and state level polls.
New York Times Poll Watch
Includes polls and related articles from the New York Times.
Pew Research Center
Is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues. The Center conducts regular monthly polls on politics and major policy issues as well as the News Interest Index, a weekly survey aimed at gauging the public's interest in and reaction to major news events.
An independent, nonpartisan, resource that focuses on trends in American public opinion. The site publishes the results of questions from surveys conducted by major polling organizations.
Public Opinion Quarterly
Published by the 'American Association for Public Opinion Research' is available back to 1937 in JSTOR, and current issues back to 1996 are available online through Oxford Journals.
Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Based at the University of Connecticut, Roper is "the leading educational facility in the field of public opinion." Especially useful is their "Topics at a Glance" section.
Washington Post Polling
Gives the latest updates on the Post's analysis of polls and polling. Also links to the Public Opinion Polls Archive.
Statistical & Data Sources
Many books and articles will contain data, or statistical information, gathered and interpreted as part of a scholar's research. Government Documents are also a valuable place to search for statistical information. Additionally, there are a number of databases and web sites that the library provides access to that contain statistical information.
Data Planet simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
U.S. Data and Statistics
Covers economic and population trends, health care costs, aviation safety, foreign trade, energy use, farm production, and more.
Statistical Abstract of the U. S.
Summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC). We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. While StatsAmerica adds value to these data through easy access and functionality, we acknowledge the direct agency source of the data on every table, profile or map.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.
Vital Statistics on Congress
Vital Statistics on Congress, first published in 1980, is the go-to source of impartial data on the United States Congress. Vital Statistics’ purpose is to collect and provide useful data on America’s first branch of government, including data on the composition of its membership, its formal procedure, informal norms, party structure, and staff. With some chapters of data dating back nearly 100 years, it also documents how Congress has changed over time.
Public Opinion: International
Africa Public Opinion Research founded in 1993, this nonpartisan research project conducts regular surveys of African opinions from more than a dozen nations on a wide range of topics. Survey results, briefing papers, and working papers are available online.
Asia – Mansfield Asian Opinion Poll Database
Monitors key public opinion trends in Northeast Asia and has collected and translated top-of-the line opinion polls on key policy-related issues from major media organizations and other agencies in Japan and South Korea.
A comparative survey covering East, Southeast, South and Central Asia.
Chicago Council on Global Affairs
One of the oldest international affairs organizations in the United States. Known for its studies of American public opinion on foreign policy, the Council has expanded its contributions to national and international discussions on issues such as migration, agricultural development and food security, and energy and climate change.
Comparative Study of Electoral Systems
A collaborative program of research among election study teams from around the world. Participating countries include a common module of survey questions in their post-election studies. The resulting data are deposited along with voting, demographic, district and macro variables. The studies are then merged into a single, free, public dataset for use in comparative study and cross-level analysis.
European Commission Public Opinion
The web site for the Public Opinion Analysis sector of the European Commission which monitors public opinion within their member states. Their surveys and studies address major topics including enlargement, social situation, health, culture, the euro, environment and defense.
Latin American Public Opinion Project (LAPOP)
Based at Vanderbilt University, LAPOP is a leader in the development, implementation, and analysis of public opinion surveys. Since the 1970s, LAPOP has gathered a treasure-trove of databases containing political perspectives from Latin America.
An annual public opinion survey that involves 18 Latin American countries produced by Latinobarómetro Corporation, a nonprofit organization based in Santiago Chile. Summaries of the survey are available for free, and the data is available through ICPSR.
World Public Opinion
An international collaborative project whose aim is to give voice to public opinion around the world on international issues. The site is managed by the Program on International Policy Attitudes at the University of Maryland
World Values Survey
A worldwide network of social scientists studying changing values and their impact on social and political life in collaboration with the European Values Study. Representative national samples of each society’s public are interviewed, using a standardized questionnaire that measures changing values concerning religion, gender roles, work motivations, democracy, good governance, social capital, political participation, tolerance of other groups, environmental protection and subjective wellbeing. Five waves of surveys have been executed since 1981. Alternative access: ICPSR.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea
International Statistics & Data
Selected statistics by country from the World Bank.
Statistics on agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food aid, land use, production, prices, and population, from the UN's Food and Agriculture Organization.
Numerous statistics culled from the CIA World Factbook, United Nations, World Health Organization, World Bank, UNESCO, etc. Statistics can be explored and graphed using the site's correlation tool.
Statistical extracts; includes data and metadata for OECD countries and selected non-member economies.
Statistical Abstracts of the World
The Statistical Abstracts of the World is a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the World.
United Nations Statistics & Data