Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources for Washington Statistics
Washington State Department of Enterprise Services (DES). Official website for Washington State government and the gateway to state and local information for Washington state.
Collection of databases including address & street data, business & professional data, and more.
Puget Sound Regional Council
Provides data on a wide variety of demographic information on race, income, housing, building permits, employment, transportation and more. Links to labor force, per capita income, population and regional consumer price index information.
Washington State Department of Revenue
Statistics and reports including retail sales data.
Washington State Office of Financial Management
Data & research related to the state budget, public policy and demographics. Topics include the economy, labor force, criminal justice, health care, and education.
Places to Start
The specific needs of your client will determine which data and statistic will be most useful for your project. That said, the following few resources are often useful for students beginning research into market demographic research.
Pierce County: Economic Development
Gateway into Pierce County economic information including key industries, major employers, facts and data, and more.
Pierce County Data
Links to data for Pierce County, including demographic, economic, financial, human services, etc.
Interface for many many data sets provided by the City of Tacoma. Includes data about business, public safety, and economic development. Mapping functionality for select data is particularly informative.
Statistical Abstract of the U. S.
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Use the Abstract as a convenient volume for statistical reference, and as a guide to sources of more information both in print and on the Web.
Business & Workforce Dynamics (Census)
Businesses and their workforces are continually expanding and contracting. Tracking these dynamics provides us with a better understanding of the U.S. economy.
The Conference Board
The Conference Board publishes leading, coincident, and lagging indexes designed to signal peaks and troughs in the business cycle for major economies around the world.
A guide to regional economic activity.
Economic Research Service (Dept. of Agriculture)
Topics focus on agriculture, including commodity prices, rural economies, and trade/international markets.
ESRI Business Analyst
Free trial available for 21 days
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Describes what workers do on the job, working conditions, training and education needed, earnings, and expected job prospects in a wide range of occupations.
Pew Research Center
Studies and surveys on demography, domestic policy, economics, energy and environment, global attitudes, immigration, internet and technology, public opinion, religion, research methodology, and social trends.
StatsAmerica is a service of the Indiana Business Research Center (IBRC). We obtain thousands of data items from hundreds of data sets from dozens of federal and state sources, along with some commercial or private source data. While StatsAmerica adds value to these data through easy access and functionality, we acknowledge the direct agency source of the data on every table, profile or map.
U.S. Bureau of Economic Analysis
Bureau of Economic Analysis
Economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy.
U.S. Department of Commerce
If you want to start at the broader umbrella, the Department of Commerce oversees several economic organizations, including the Bureau of Economic Analysis, Economic statistics, which provide a comprehensive, up-to-date picture of the U.S. economy
Economic Development Administration, Economics and Statistics Administration, International Trade Administration, and U.S. Census Bureau.
United States Bureau of Labor Statistics
Includes the Consumer Price Index, Producer Price Index, Unemployment Rate, and more.
United States Census Bureau
"The Census Bureau's mission is to serve as the nation’s leading provider of quality data about its people and economy."
Statistical & Data Library Guide
Data Planet simplifies data analysis by providing an all-in-one resource for researchers and students to access statistics relevant to their areas of study.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea