Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary finding aids.
Note: If you need discipline-specific resources, it is better to use the recommended subject databases under the "articles" tab in the library subject guides.
Academic Search Premier
Indexes and offers mostly the full text of thousands of magazines and journals. Includes a mix of popular and scholarly sources.
Archive of scholarly journals. Typically does NOT include the most current issues.
Collection of scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Also includes literary journals. Coverage typically begins in the early 21st century. Especially good coverage of film journals.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Indexes and provides mostly full-text of thousands of articles from both popular and scholarly periodicals.
These subject databases may be especially useful for your research project for this class, depending on the angle that you take.
America: History & Life
U.S. and Canadian history.
MLA International Bibliography
Literature, linguistics, and related areas.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Gender Studies Database
Scholarly work with a gendered focus.
Indexes scholarly work written by and of interest to sociologists.
Political Science Complete
Scholarship in political science.
But I can't find anything EXACTLY on my topic!
This is a GOOD thing! It means that you have a wonderful opportunity to contribute an original argument to the world of ideas. You'll need to undertake research creatively with related ideas and concepts.