Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collins Library subscribes to a number of history journals that are specifically devoted to publishing scholarly articles on the history of the cold war. You may wish to browse these journals to get an idea of what is being published on the topic.
Journal of Cold War Studies. Full-text access to article is available via Project Muse from the Winter 1999 issue up to the present.
Cold War History. Full-text access to articles is available from August 2000, with an embargo on the most recent 18 months. Articles from the most 18 months are indexed and can be requested via interlibrary loan.
Databases for Finding Articles
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Subjects covered include global public policy and social issues including culture and religion, human rights, labor policy, media, politics, transportation and more. Indexes periodicals, books, hearings, reports, gray literature, government publications, Internet resources and other publications from 120 countries.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of History, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use the "check for full text" option to see if the library has the material or if you need to order it through interlibrary loan.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.