Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
In addition to the class reader, the following sources are recommended.
Selected Additional Readings
The Abbasid Tradition by
Call Number: Print Books (NK3636.5.G7 L667 1992 )
Publication Date: 1992-12-17
The Nasser D. Khalili Collection of Islamic Art contains the largest and most comprehensive range of Qur'anic material in private hands. The entire history of Qur'an production from the seventh to the twentieth century is covered, and includes items from centers as far apart as India and Spain. A team of distinguished academics is cataloguing the entire collection, which is to encompass a series of twenty-six volumes. The Qur'ans in this collection are described and illustrated in four lavish volumes, of which this is the first; it covers the eighth to the tenth centuries.
Age of Sinan by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1373.S5 N43 2005 )
Publication Date: 2005-07-25
During his tenure as Chief Royal Architect (1539-1588) in the "Golden Age" of the Ottoman Empire, Sinan designed hundreds of structures that helped create the renowned urban image of Istanbul, particularly mosques with seemingly weightless, light-filled centralized domes that have been compared with developments in Renaissance Italy. His distinctive architectural idiom left its imprint over a vast empire extending from the Danube to the Tigris, and he became the most celebrated of all Ottoman architects. In this lavishly illustrated, major new assessment of Sinan's oeuvre, Gülru Necipoglu challenges standard views of Sinan as a "Turkish Michelangelo" driven solely by an insatiable urge for artistic experimentation. Her innovative analysis shows that Sinan's rich variety of mosque designs sprang from a process of negotiation between the architect and his elite patrons, both men and women. Defined though they were by social and territorial hierarchies and associated notions of identity, memory, and decorum, Sinan's mosques simultaneously shaped these conceptions. The Age of Sinan draws on a wealth of primary sources to reveal the chief architect's monuments as bearers of previously unrecognized dimensions of meaning. A sophisticated study of the cultural and social history of Ottoman architecture, interpreting the oeuvre of a seminal figure in the early modern eastern Mediterranean world, it is must reading for scholars and students of art history and other fields with an interest in the Ottoman Empire.
The Alhambra by
Call Number: Print Books (NA387 .G73 )
Publication Date: 1978-01-01
If there is one building that symbolizes Spain—its history, its romance, its mystery, its conjoining of disparate strains into one, single, recognizably Spanish cultural statement—it is the Alhambra. This program, produced by the Spanish Ministry of Culture, provides a detailed tour of the buildings and grounds, as well as an explanation of the purpose and function of the citadel, and provides historical portraits of those who built and modified it, from Mohammed Ibn al-Amar in 1238 through Carlos V.
Arab Painting by
Call Number: Special Collections (ND198 .E8 )
Publication Date: 1962
Architecture, Ceremonial, and Power by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1370 .N43 1991 )
Publication Date: 1992-01-21
Today the Topkapi Palace in Istanbul seems a haphazard aggregate of modest buildings no longer capable of conveying imperial power. Yet it is one of the most celebrated of all Islamic palaces. Gulru Necipoglu brings together largely unpublished sources, both written and visual, along with information derived from the architectural remains to uncover the processes through which the meaning of the palace was once produced. She relocates the Topkapi in its historical context, a context that included not only the circumstances of its patronage, but the complex interaction of cultural practices, ideologies, and social codes of recognition
Architecture of Islamic Iran by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 1969-12-23
Architecture of Mughal India by
Call Number: Print Books (DS436 .N47 pt.1 v.4 )
Publication Date: 1992-09-24
This book traces the development and spread of architecture under the Mughal emperors. Professor Asher considers the entire scope of architecture built under the auspices of the imperial Mughals and their subjects. She looks in particular at the role of political and cultural ideology, the relationship between construction in the major cities and in the provinces and the continuing Mughal fascination with paradisical imagery that culminated in the construction of the Taj Mahal.
Architecture of the Islamic World by
Call Number: Print Books (NA380 .A78 1978 )
Publication Date: 1995-10-01
From mosques to markets, from citadels to cemetries, this text is a survey of the entire field of Islamic architecture. Although Islamic buildings may make an immediate visual impact, it can be useful to know something of the society which they serve. This text relates the architecture to the social areas of religion, power structure, commerce and communal life, placing emphasis on function and meaning rather than on style and chronology.
The Art and Architecture of Islam, 1250-1800 by
Call Number: Print Books (N6260 .B56 1994 )
Publication Date: 1994-09-28
Virtually all the masterpieces of Islamic art - the Alhambra, the Taj Mahal and the Tahmasp Shahnama - were produced during the period from the Mongol conquests in the early 13th century to the advent of European colonial rule in the 19th century. This work surveys the architecture and arts of the traditional Islamic lands during this era.
Arts of the City Victorious by
Call Number: Print Books (NK720 .B58 2007 )
Publication Date: 2008-03-19
This is the first book-length study of the art and architecture of the Fatimids, the Ismaili Shi'i dynasty that ruled in North Africa and Egypt from 909 to 1171. The Fatimids are most famous for founding the city of al-Qahira (Cairo) in 969, and their art--particularly textiles and luster ceramics, but also metalwork and carved rock-crystal, ivory and woodwork--has been admired for nearly a millennium. In this engaging and accessible book, Jonathan M. Bloom concentrates on securely dated and localized examples of Fatimid art and architecture. His discussions focus on significant examples and are illustrated with over 100 photographs, many in color, and extensive notes and bibliography provide guidance for further reading and research.
Ayyubid Metalwork with Christian Images by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 1989-06-01
'...a milestone in the study of Islamic metalwork.'J. Allan, JRAS, 1991.'A good bibliography, sharp illustrations and lucid analysis are among the book's strong points.'Omar Khalidi, Muslim World Book Review, 1995.
Bayt Al-Maqdis by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2000-07-13
At the end of the seventh century A.D., the Muslims rebuilt the former Temple Mount and created one of the most potent religious sites in the world. The articles in these volumes look at the different aspects of the architecture and the intentions of the builders in establishing this complex.
Cairo of the Mamluks by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1583 .B447 2007 )
Publication Date: 2008-03-15
The Arab philosopher Ibn Khaldun described Cairo under the Mamluks as ""a city beyond imagination"". The Mamluk sultans originated as a slave-based caste rose to rule in the mid-13th century. Accordingly, they designed their capital to be the heart of the Muslim world. It became the focus of their enormous patronage of art and architecture, the stage for their ceremonial rituals, and a memorial to their achievements. This history of Mamluk architecture spans three centuries and examines the monuments of the Mamluks in their social, political and urban context, during the period of their rule (1250 - 1517). The book displays the multiple facets of Mamluk patronage, and also provides a succinct discussion of the sixty key monuments built in Cairo by the Mamluk sultans. The unique strength of Doris Abouseif's work lies in its scholarly yet engaging presentation of original material, diligently researched in the waqf (Islamic endowments) archives including architectural plans and personal records. A richly illustrated volume with colour photographs, plans and isometric drawings, it will be an essential reference work for scholars and students of the art and architecture of the Islamic world as well as art historians and historians of late medieval Islamic history. Cairo of the Mamluks received a Commendation from the 2008 BRISMES book awards.
The Cambridge Illustrated History of the Islamic World by
Call Number: Print Books (DS35.63 .R63 1996 )
Publication Date: 1996-06-13
Islamic peoples account for one-fifth of the world's population and yet there is widespread misunderstanding in the West about Islam. Francis Robinson and his team set out to address this, revealing with the help of sumptuous illustration, insight, and expertise, the complex and sometimes contrary nature of Muslim culture. As well as taking on the issues uppermost in everyone's minds, such as the role of religious and political fundamentalism, they demonstrate the importance of commerce, literacy and learning, Islamic art, the effects of immigration, exodus, and conquest, and the roots of current crises in the Middle East, Bosnia, and the Gulf. Throughout, emphasis is placed on the interaction between Islam and the West, from the first Latin translations of the Quran to the fatwa on Salman Rushdie, to dismantle our impression of Islam as a monolithic culture.
The City in the Islamic World by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2008-08-22
The purpose of this book, is to draw attention to the sites of life, politics and culture where current and past generations of the Islamic world have made their mark. Unlike many previous volumes dealing with the city in the Islamic world, this one has been specially expanded not only to include snapshots of historical fabric but also to deal with the transformation of this fabric into modern and contemporary urban entities.
Classical Revival in Islamic Architectur by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1465 .A45 1986 )
Publication Date: 1990-03-29
The Madrasah al-Shu'aybiyah in Aleppo, erected in 545/1150 by Nur al-Din Mahmud, is an Islamic building in which antique forms are reused. Starting from this building the author draws wider and wider circles of comparison around it, discussing the development of Islamic architecture and demonstrating that there was a classical revival in this architecture. Herzfeld regarded the Shu'aybiyah and other classicizing buildings as represntatives of an uninterrupted antique tradition and denied a "renaissance of the antique". Allen clearly shows the differences between Islamic classicism and the classicism that occurred in the many revivals of classical architecture in the West.
The Complete Taj Mahal by
Call Number: Print Books (NA6183 .K6 2006 )
Publication Date: 2006-11-01
This volume leads the reader through the complex and gardens of the Taj Mahal. Illustrated with hundreds of photographs and drawings and with an in-depth explanation of each building, this work gives an account of the mausoleum's urban setting, its design and construction, its symbolic meaning, and its history.
Constructions of Power and Piety in Medieval Aleppo by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1489.7.A43 T23 1997 )
Publication Date: 1997-07-08
In the twelfth and thirteenth centuries, the Ayyubid dynasty brought unprecedented architectural development to Aleppo, the most important city in medieval Syria. While early Islamic empires usually expressed their grandeur by founding new cities with vast extra-urban palaces, the Ayyubids asserted their power by "modernizing" existing towns. With its large, well-preserved citadel and a wide variety of pious institutions, Aleppo is the ideal subject for Yasser Tabbaa's study of the pan-Islamic transformation in urban architecture. Tabbaa argues that the intense palatial and religious architectural activity of the period was intended to create a royal image of the Ayyubid state while also fostering links between it and the urban population. His study is based on an entirely new evaluation of the architectural and epigraphic aspects of the standing monuments of the period. It presents for the first time full photographic coverage of these monuments, as well as many new plans and other renderings, and pays close attention to monumental inscriptions, correcting and augmenting previous studies. The book utilizes the full panoply of the available literary sources, including topographies, chronicles, travel accounts, and poetry. The juxtaposition of thorough architectural analysis and keen evaluation of literary sources sheds new light on nearly all aspects of this architecture: its links with the city, its place within Ayubbid patronage, its role in the prevalent sectarian rivalry in the city, and, perhaps most important, its function as the propagator of royal power and integrator of this power within the urban population. At a time when Arabic poetry and court culture had lost much of their earlier resonance, Tabbaa finds that these architectural institutions contributed to the creation of a later medieval Islamic culture, one more closely tied to the grandeur of monuments than to the eloquence of ideas.
Discovering Islamic Art by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2000-05-12
This book explores how collecting and scholarship in the field of Islamic Art developed between c.1850 and c.1950, the period when the intellectual foundations for the study of Islamic art were established. Stephen Vernoit outlines the formation of collections, the role of exhibitions, museums and libraries, the growth of the art market, and the emergence of scholarship.
The Dome of the Rock by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2006-10-30
Combining over 200 photographs and essays, maps, drawings and traveller's tales this book looks at what is one of the most important religious monuments in the world. It has significance to all 3 major world religions.
Gardens, Landscape, and Vision in the Palaces of Islamic Spain by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2000-03-16
Islamic gardens, with their waterways and beds of plants and trees, are generally regarded as an earthly reflection of paradise. D. Fairchild Ruggles offers a new interpretation, contending that the palace garden was primarily an environmental, economic, and political construct. She discusses three aspects of medieval Islamic Spain: the landscape and agricultural transformation documented in Arabic scientific literature, the formation of the garden and its symbolism from the eighth through the fifteenth centuries, and the role of the gaze and the frame in the spatial structures through which sovereignty was constituted. Although the repertory of architectural and garden forms was largely unchanged from the tenth through the fifteenth centuries, Ruggles explains that their meaning changed dramatically. The royal palace gardens of Cordoba expressed a political ideology that placed the king above and at the center of the garden and, metaphorically, of his kingdom. This conception of the world began to falter in later centuries, but patrons clung to the forms and motifs of the golden age. Instead of creating new forms, artists at the Alhambra in Granada reworked and refined familiar vocabulary and materials. The vistas fixed by windows and pavilions referred not to the actual relationship of the king to his domain but rather to the memory of a once-expanding territory.
The Great Mosque of Damascus by
Call Number: Print Books (NA5989.7.D34 F59 2001 )
Publication Date: 2001
The celebrated Great Mosque of Damascus was built in the early eighth century by the Umayyad caliph al-Wal d b. Abd al-Malik. This book provides a detailed study of this Mosque. Using textual, visual, and archaeological evidence, the author attempts to reconstruct some of the basic formal and decorative features of the Umayyad mosque, to locate it within its broader urban context, and to consider its role within al-Wal ds unprecedented programme of architectural patronage. The work explores the intracultural and intercultural functions of religious architecture within an official visual discourse intended to project a distinctive Muslim identity in a manner determined by Umayyad political aspirations. It will be of particular interest to those concerned with the relationship between the Umayyad caliphate and Byzantium.
The Hajj by
Call Number: Print Books (BP187.3 .P475 1994 )
Publication Date: 1994-05-04
Among the duties God imposes upon every Muslim capable of doing so is a pilgrimage to the holy places in and around Mecca in Arabia. Not only is it a religious ritual filled with blessings for the millions who make the journey annually, but it is also a social, political, and commercial experience that for centuries has set in motion a flood of travelers across the world's continents. Whatever its outcome--spiritual enrichment, cultural exchange, financial gain or ruin--the road to Mecca has long been an exhilarating human adventure. By collecting the firsthand accounts of these travelers and shaping their experiences into a richly detailed narrative, F. E. Peters here provides an unparalleled literary history of the central ritual of Islam from its remote pre-Islamic origins to the end of the Hashimite Kingdom of the Hijaz in 1926.
Half the World by
Call Number: Print Books (NA2543.S6 B57 1999 )
Publication Date: 1999-06-01
"Social architecture is a theoretical approach that takes the city itself as a text. The built environment reflects the social system and the ways in which that system is expressed, reproduced, and experienced. The defining architectural element of Safavid Isfahan was the Maidan-i Naqsh-i Jahan, the great piazza around which Shah 'Abbas built the nucleus of his new capital." "This volume offers significant contributions in three separate fields: (1) it is the first comprehensive study of Isfahan, one of the great cities of early modern Eurasia (2) it contributes a significant chapter to our understanding of Iran under the Safavids, 1500-1722 and (3) it adds a great deal to the literature on cities in the Middle East and to the "Islamic city" model."
The Historical Topography of Samarra by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
This is the first fundamentally new work to come out in half a century on one of the world's most famous Islamic archaeological sites: Samarra, in Iraq. This capital of the Abbasid caliphs in the 9th century is not only one of the largest urban sites worldwide, but also gives us the essence of what the physical appearance of the caliphate was like, for early Baghdad is long lost. It is known not only for its famous spiral minarets, but also for its Golden Dome over the tombs of the Imams, and its long avenues of mud-brick architecture still visible. With the end of Saddam's regime in Iraq, the Abbasid caliphate the Golden Age of Early Islam is coming back into interest, long obscured by the difficulties of going there.
Historic Cities of the Islamic World by
Call Number: Print Books (HT147.5 .H57 2007 )
Publication Date: 2007-12-26
This book contains articles on historic cities of the Islamic world, ranging from West Africa to Malaysia, which over the centuries have been centres of culture and learning and of economic and commercial life, and which have contributed much to the consolidation of Islam as a faith and as a social and political institution. The articles have been taken from the second edition of the Encyclopaedia of Islam, completed in 2004, but in many cases expanded and rewritten.
Isfahan and Its Palaces by
Call Number: Print Books (NA1487.I8 B33 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-07-01
Winner of the Houshang Pourshariati Iranian Studies Book Award 2009 This beautifully illustrated history of Safavid Isfahan (1501-1722) explores the architectural and urban forms and networks of socio-cultural action that reflected a distinctly early-modern and Perso-Shi'i practice of kingship.An immense building campaign, initiated in 1590-91 at the millennial threshold of the Islamic calendar (1000 A.H.), transformed Isfahan from a provincial, medieval, and largely Sunni city into an urban-centered representation of the first Imami Shi'i empire in the history of Islam. The historical process of Shi'ification of Safavid Iran and the deployment of the arts in situating the shifts in the politico-religious agenda of the imperial household informs Sussan Babaie's study of palatial architecture and urban environments of Isfahan and the earlier capitals of Tabriz and Qazvin.Babaie argues that since the Safavid claim presumed the inheritance both of the charisma of the Shi'i Imams and of the aura of royal splendor integral to ancient Persian notions of kingship, a ceremonial regime was gradually devised in which access and proximity to the shah assumed the contours of an institutionalized form of feasting. Talar-palaces, a new typology in Islamic palatial designs, and the urban-spatial articulation of access and proximity are the architectural anchors of this argument.
Call Number: Print Books (DS35.6 .E5313 1988 )
Publication Date: 1988-05-01
Islamic Gardens and Landscapes by
Call Number: Print Books (SB457.8 .R85 2008 )
Publication Date: 2008-01-16
"In the course of my research," writes D. Fairchild Ruggles, "I devoured Arabic agricultural manuals from the tenth through the fourteenth centuries. I love gardening, and in these texts I was able to enter the minds of agriculturalists and botanists of a thousand years ago who likewise believed it was important and interesting to record all the known ways of propagating olive trees, the various uses of rosemary, and how best to fertilize a garden bed." Western admirers have long seen the Islamic garden as an earthly reflection of the paradise said to await the faithful. However, such simplification, Ruggles contends, denies the sophistication and diversity of the art form. Islamic Gardens and Landscapes immerses the reader in the world of the architects of the great gardens of the Islamic world, from medieval Morocco to contemporary India. Just as Islamic culture is historically dense, sophisticated, and complex, so too is the history of its built landscapes. Islamic gardens began from the practical need to organize the surrounding space of human civilization, tame nature, enhance the earth's yield, and create a legible map on which to distribute natural resources. Ruggles follows the evolution of these early farming efforts to their aristocratic apex in famous formal gardens of the Alhambra in Spain and the Taj Mahal in Agra. Whether in a humble city home or a royal courtyard, the garden has several defining characteristics, which Ruggles discusses. Most notable is an enclosed space divided into four equal parts surrounding a central design element. The traditional Islamic garden is inwardly focused, usually surrounded by buildings or in the form of a courtyard. Water provides a counterpoint to the portioned green sections. Ranging across poetry, court documents, agronomy manuals, and early garden representations, and richly illustrated with pictures and site plans, Islamic Gardens and Landscapes is a book of impressive scope sure to interest scholars and enthusiasts alike.
The Legacy of Genghis Khan by
Call Number: Print Books (N7283 .L44 2002 )
Publication Date: 2002-10-11
In the 13th century, under the leadership of Genghis Khan, nomadic horsemen burst out of Mongolia and began their sweep across Asia, creating the largest empire the world has ever known. Particularly in China and Iran (Persia), the results were far-reaching: the Mongols imposed enormous changes but were also influenced by the highly developed civilizations of their new subjects. During the century they ruled Iran - the period of the Ilkhanid dynasty (1256 to 1353) - the Mongols adopted Islam and sponsored a brilliant cultural flowering that encompassed many branches of the arts and transformed local Persian artistic traditions.
Lustre Pottery by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 1985-01-01
The Mediation of Ornament by
Call Number: Borrow through Summit
Publication Date: 1992-11-19
In this richly illustrated book, Oleg Grabar shares a veteran art historian's love for the sheer sensuality of ornamentation. Grabar analyzes early and medieval Islamic objects and uses this art to show how ornament in general enables a direct, immediate encounter between viewers and art objects from any culture and time period.
Call Number: Print Books (NA4670 .B55 1989 )
Publication Date: 1990-08-23
Using buildings, archaeological reports, medieval histories, geographies and early Arabic poetry, this book reinterprets the origin, development and meanings of the minaret. explaining how the tower became identified with Islam. Bloom shows how the introduction of the tower into the mosque marked a major shift in the iconography of architecture and how the tower, once a sign of political and royal power, became associated with religious architecture. Charting the spread of the minaret throughout the Islamic lands until its universal acceptance as a sign, Bloom concludes with an overview of subsequent developments once the minaret had become the symbol of Islam.
The Mosque by
Call Number: Print Books (NA4670 .M67 1994 )
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
This book, with contributions by 16 eminent scholars, traces the history and development of the mosque since its origins in Medina in the time of the Prophet Muhammad, explaining its traditional religious and teaching role in Muslim society, as well as its architectural and decorative features.
Persian Gardens and Garden Pavilions by
Call Number: Request through Summit
Publication Date: 1979-01-01
This study traces the history of gardens in Iran from the earliest remains of the Timurid period to those of the Qajar dynasty of the nineteenth century. Illustrations from early travel books and paintings show the original conditions of now ruined gardens.
The Places Where Men Pray Together by
Call Number: Print Books (HT384.I67 W48 2001 )
Publication Date: 2000-12-01
What makes a city an economic, political, and cultural center? In The Places Where Men Pray Together, Paul Wheatley draws on two decades of astonishingly wide-ranging research to demonstrate that Islamic cities are defined by function rather than form—by what they do rather than what they are. Focusing on the roles of cities during the first four centuries of Islamic expansion, Wheatley explores interconnected cultural, historical, economic, political, and religious factors to provide the clearest and most extensively documented portrait of early Islamic urban centers available to date. Building on the tenth-century geographer al-Maqdisi's writings on urban centers of the Islamic world, buttressed by extensive comparative material from roadbooks, topographies, histories, adab literatures, and gazetteers of the time, Wheatley identifies the main functions of different Islamic urban centers. Chapters on each of the thirteen centers that al-Maqdisi identified, ranging from the Atlantic to the Indus and from the Caspian to the Sudan, form the heart of this book. In each case Wheatley shows how specific agglomeration and accessibility factors combined to make every city functionally distinct as a creator of effective space. He also demonstrates that, far from revolutionizing every aspect of life in these cities, the adoption of Islam often affected the development of these cities less than previously existing local traditions. The Places Where Men Pray Together is a monumental work that will speak to scholars and readers across a broad variety of disciplines, from historians, anthropologists, and sociologists to religious historians, archaeologists, and geographers.
The Shape of the Holy - Early Islamic Jerusalem by
Call Number: Print Books (DS109.916 .G73 1996 )
Publication Date: 1996-12-01
From the time of Herod through the Crusades, Jerusalem had officially "changed its religion" several times, with Jews, Christians, and Muslims inscribing the story of their faiths on the urban landscape. In this handsomely illustrated book, noted Islamist Oleg Grabar offers a rare account of the great role played by early Islam in defining the "look" of Jerusalem that remained largely intact until the twentieth century. From about 640 to 1100, Muslims transformed Christian Jerusalem, mainly the area now known as the Haram al-Sharif, both physically and ideologically to embody their new faith. Grabar examines this process, showing how it led to great architectural achievements, including The Dome of the Rock, still perhaps the most vivid image to impress any visitor to Jerusalem. Offering a major photographic record of The Dome's mosaics in color together with its interiors, this book shows in rich detail how Islam articulated itself architecturally, touching on historical and legendary memories and on themes of both religious harmony and Islamic triumph. Dominating Jerusalem's landscape today, The Dome of the Rock was commissioned by Abd Al-Malik in 691, and still houses the Rock from which the Prophet Mohammed is believed to have ascended into heaven. Grabar argues that its construction altered the visual equilibrium of Jerusalem by equating its eastern hill, Mt. Moriah, a key landmark in Islam, with its western ones, Golgotha and Mt. Zion, highlighted by Christian monuments. A close look at The Dome's construction and decoration leads to a new explanation of the building as a Late Antique monument of art that could be adapted to several different and at times simultaneous interpretations. Grabar also offers a unique portrait of Jerusalem in the eleventh century under the Fatimid dynasty in Cairo, when the city was at its peak as a peaceful, cosmopolitan center. Through an innovative computer modeling program, Grabar presents fascinating reconstructions of the Haram al-Sharif, taking us down streets and past buildings, of which only remnants exist today.
The structural history of the Aqsa Mosque; a record of archaeological gleanings from the repairs of 1938-1942. by
Call Number: Request throug ILLiad
Publication Date: 1949
The Timurid Architecture of Iran and Turan by
Call Number: Print Books (NA5991 .G6 1988 )
Publication Date: 1988-06-21
An upsurge of interest in Islamic art and architecture creates the ideal climate for publication of this long-awaited comprehensive picture of the entire range of building activity sponsored by the Timurids during the fifteenth century, including the monumental, color-clad mosques, shrines, and mausoleums. The term "Timurid" here refers not only to the empire established by Timur around 1370, but also to that of his successors and their rivals who shared in an extraordinary cultural flowering stretching from Iran throughout Turan, north of the Amu Darya River. In the interpretative essays that make up about half the first volume, Lisa Golombek and Donald Wilber discuss this mature culture and highlight the major architectural achievements of the age. Following the essays is an extensive catalogue of 257 Timurid monuments, based on field investigations by the authors and others and on original sources still inaccessible to most scholars. In addition, the authors have developed a new descriptive and critical vocabulary that will be useful not only for this period but for the study of the architecture of Mogul India, Safavid Iran, and, by extension, of the Ottoman Empire. The catalogue contains contributions by Terry Allen, Leonid S. Bretanitskii, Robert Hillenbrand, Renta Holod, Antony Hutt, L. Iu. Man'kovskaia, and Bernard O'Kane. The second volume contains the illustrations. A distinctive feature of this study is its treatment of general architectural questions, such as the uses of geometry, spatial and decorative characteristics, and construction techniques.
The Topkapi Scroll by
Call Number: Print Books (NA2706.A783 N43 1995 )
Publication Date: 1996-03-14
The scant number of drawings and the absence of any theoretical treatises on the architecture of the pre-Islamic world make the late fifteenth-century Timurid pattern scroll in the Topkapi Palace Museum Library an exceedingly valuable source of information. In the course of her analysis of the scroll, Necipoglu throws new light on the conceptualization, recording, and transmission of architectural design in the Islamic world between the tenth and sixteenth centuries. Her comparison of the Islamic understanding of geometry with that found in medieval Western art makes this book particularly valuable for all historians and critics of architecture. The text also has far-reaching implications for recent discussions on vision, subjectivity, and the semiotics of abstract representation. The book reproduces the entire scroll, with its 114 individual geometric patterns for wall surfaces and vaulting, along with illustrations showing the underlying geometries from which the individual patterns are generated. An essay by Mohahhad al-Asad discusses the geometry of the mugarnas and demonstrates how one of the scroll's patterns could be used to design a three-dimensional vault.
Walid and His Friends by
Call Number: Print Books (DS236 .H215 1988 )
Publication Date: 1988-10-20
This is an account of the life and leisure of Walid II, medieval Islamic Caliph and heir apparent who contributed to the fall of the Umayyad dynasty. Setting his study of Walid's career and fortunes against the backdrop of the Caliph's country resort, discovered at Khirbat al-Mafjar in the Jordan Valley, Hamilton finds many of Walid's personal eccentricities reflected in the architecture of the resort itself. The book is enhanced by many new line drawings and photographs.