Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 361: Roman Art: Course Readings

Reading List

NOTE: For articles that are available full text, the link is included below.

*Boymel Kampen, Natalie. “Social Status and Gender in Roman Art: The Case of the Saleswoman,” Feminism and Art History. Understanding the Litany, ed. Norma Bourde, Mary Garrard, New York, 1982, 63-77.

*Briguet, Marie-Francoise. “Art,” in Etruscan Life and Afterlife. A Handbook of Etruscan Studies, ed. Larissa Bonfante, Wayne State University Press, Detroit, 1986, 92-173.

*D’Ambra, Eve. “Nudity and Adornment in Female Portrait Sculpture of the Second Century AD,” I, Claudia II: Women in Roman Society, ed. by Diana Kleiner and Susan Matheson, University of Texas Press, 2000, 101-114

*Hallett, Christopher. “Emulation Versus Replication: Redefining Roman Copying,” in Journal of Roman Archaeology 18 (2005), 419-435

Kellum, Barbara A. “The construction of landscape in Augustan Rome: The Garden Room at the Villa ad Gallinas” Art Bulletin 76/2 (1994) 211-- available through JSTOR. Full text link

*Marlowe, Elizabeth. “Framing the Sun: The Arch of Constantine and the Roman Cityscape,” Art Bulletin LXXXVIII/2 (2006), 223-242 -- available online through Academic Search Premier. Full text link

*Philip Peirce. “The Arch of Constantine: Propaganda and Ideology in Late Roman Art,” Art History 12/4 (1989), 389-418 -- available online through Academic Search Premier. Full text link

* Prag, John and Richard Neave. “Mirror, Mirror on the Wall…: Seianti Hanunia Tlesnasa,” Making Faces. Using Forensic and Archaeological Evidence, Texas A&M University Press, College Station, 1997, 172-200, 246-249.

*Rees, R. “Images and Image: A Re-Examination of Tetrarchic Iconography,” Greece & Rome, 2nd Ser., 40/2 (1993)181-200 -- available through JSTOR. Full text link

 *Smith, R.R.R. “Greeks, Foreigners and Roman Republican Portraits.” Journal of Roman Studies, Vol. 71 (1981) pp. 24-38.  available through JSTOR Full text link

 *Smith, R. R. R. "The Public Image of Licinius I: Portrait Sculpture and Imperial Ideology in the Early Fourth Century,” R. R. R. Smith, The Journal of Roman Studies 87 (1997), 170-202 -- available through JSTOR. Full text link

*Stamper, John W. “Hadrian’s Pantheon,” in The Architecture of Roman Temples. The Republic to the Middle Empire, Cambridge University Press, 2005, 184-205

Stewart, Peter.  "Who Made Roman Art."

*Varner, E.  “Tyranny and Transformation of the Roman Visual Landscape,” in From Caligula to Constantine: Tyranny and Transformation in Roman Portraiture, Ed. Eric Varner, Emory University, Atlanta, Georgia, 2000, 9-26

*Wallace-Hadrill, Andrew. “Engendering the Roman House,” in I Claudia. Women in Ancient Rome, ed. Diana Kleiner and Susan Matheson, University of Texas Press, 1996, 104-115

*Wood, Susan. “Diva Drusilla Panthea and the Sisters of Caligula,” American Journal of Archaeology, Vol. 99/3 (1995), pp. 457-482,  available through JSTOR Full text link 

*Zanker, Paul. “The Mythical Foundations of the New Rome", in The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus, University of Michigan Press, 1990, 167-238

*Zanker, Paul.  “Rival Images: Octavian, Antony, and the Struggle for Sole Power,” in The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus, University of Michigan Press, 1990.

Etruscan Art

Banti, L. The Etruscan Cities and their Culture, Berkeley, Los Angeles, 1973

Bonfante, Larissa (ed). Etruscan Life and Afterlife. A Handbook of Etruscan Studies. Wayne State University Press, Detroit, 1986.

Boethius, A. Etruscan and Early Roman Architecture, 2nd ed., revised by R. Ling and T. Rasmussen, Harmondsworth, 1978

Boitani, F. et al., Etruscan Cities, London, 1975

Brendel, Otto J. Etruscan Art.  Yale University Press, New Haven, London, 1978

Macnamara, Ellen. The Etruscans.  British Museum. Harvard University Press, Cambridge, MA, 1991

Pallottino, M. Etruscan Painting, Geneva, 1952

Pallottino, M. The Etruscans, Harmondsworth, 1978

Ridgway, David and Ridgway, Francesca R. (eds.) Italy Before the Romans.  The Iron Age, Orientalizing and Etruscan Periods.  London, New York, San Francisco, 1979

Spivey, N. Etruscan Art. New York, 1997

Roman Art

Bianchi Bandinelli, R. Rome: the Centre of Power, London, 1968

Bianchi Bandinelli, R. Rome: the Late Empire, London, 1970

Bieber, M. Ancient Copies: Contributions to the History of Greek and Roman Art, New York, 1977

Boatwright, Mary T. Hadrian and the City of Rome. Princeton University Press, Princeton, New Jersey, 1978

Boethius, A. and Ward-Perkins. Etruscan and Roman Architecture, Harmondsworth, 1970

Brendel, Otto J. Prolegomena to the Study of Roman Art. Yale New Haven and London, 1979

Brilliant, R. Roman Art from the Republic to Constantine, London, 1974

Brilliant, R. Visual Narratives: Storytelling in Etruscan and Roman Art, Ithaca, 1984

Brown, F. E. Roman Architecture, New York, 1961

Brown, P. The World of Late Antiquity, London, 1971

Cornell, T. and Matthews, J. Atlas of the Roman World, Oxford, 1982

D’Ambra, Eve. Roman Art in Context. An Anthology. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, 1993

Elsner, Jas. Art and the Roman Viewer. The Transformation of Art from the Pagan World to Christianity. Cambridge University Press, 1995

Hales, Shelley. The Roman House and Social Identity, Cambridge University Press, 2003

Hallett, Christopher. The Roman Nude. Heroic Portrait Statuary 200 BC-AD 300, Oxford University Press, 2005

Hanfmann, G. M. A. Observations on Roman Portraiture, Brussels, 1953

Hannestadt, N. Roman Art and Imperial Policy, Aarhus, 1988

Harden, D. B. Glass of the Caesars, exhibition catalog, Milan, 1987

Higgins, R. Greek and Roman Jewellery, 2nd ed., London, 1980

Kleiner, Diana E. E. Roman Sculpture. Yale University Press, New Haven, 1992

Kraus, T. and Matt, L. von. Pompeii and Herculaneum: The Living Cities of the Dead, New York, 1975

Lehmann, P. W. Roman Wall Paintings from Boscoreale in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Cambridge, Mass., 1953

L’Orange, H. P. Art Forms and Civic Life in the Late Roman Empire. Princeton University Press, Princeton, New Jersey, 1965

Ling, Roger. Roman Painting. Cambridge University Press, Cambridge, 1991

MacCormack, S. Art and Ceremony in Late Antiquity, Berkeley and Los Angeles, 1981

McCann, A. M. Roman Sarcophagi in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, 1978

Richter, G. M. A. Roman Portraits, New York, 1948

Richter, G. M. A. Perspective in Greek and Roman Art, London, 1970

Richter, G. M. A. Engraved Gems of the Greeks, Etruscans, and Romans, London, 1971

Richter, G. M. A. The Furniture of the Greeks, Etruscans, and Romans, London, 1971

Ryberg, I. S. Rites of the State and Religion in Roman Art, Rome, 1985

Pollitt, J. J. The Art of Rome c. 753 BC – 337 AD.  Sources and Documents. Englewood Cliffs, New Jersey, 1966

Pollitt, J. J. The Ancient View of Greek Art, New Haven and London, 1974

Ridgway, B. S. Roman Copies of Greek Sculpture: the Problem of the Originals, Ann Arbor, 1984

Sear, F. Roman Architecture. Ithaca, NY, Cornell University Press, 1983

Stamper, J. W. The Architecture of Roman Temples. The Republic to the Middle Empire. Cambridge University Press, 2005

Stewart, Peter. Statues in Roman Society. Representation and Response. Oxford University Press, 2003.

Strong, D. Roman Art, 1988

Strong, D. Roman Imperial Sculpture, London, 1961

Sutherland, C. H. V. Roman Coins, London, 1974

Torelli, M. Typology and Structure of Roman Historical Reliefs, Anna Arbor, 1982

Vermule, C. C. Greek Sculpture and Roman Taste, Ann Arbor, 1977

Wallace-Hadrill, Andrew. Houses and Society in Pompeii and Herculaneum. Princeton University Press, Princeton, New Jersey, 1994

Ward-Perkins, J. B. Roman Architecture, New York, 1977

Ward-Perkins, J. B. Roman Imperial Architecture, Harmondsworth, 1981

Weitzmann, K., ed. Age of Spirituality: Late Antique and Early Christian Art, New York, 1979

Wood, S. Roman Portrait Sculpture 217-260 A.D., Leiden, 1986

Zanker, Paul. The Power of Images in the Age of Augustus. Ann Arbor, 1988