Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 368: Japanese Art: Final Project

Assignment

Final Project and Presentation (25%):  The final project is a student’s exhibition of her/his understanding and experience of any important aspect of Japanese art.  The student may choose one of two options: a research paper of 10-11 pages, preferably with a certain theme or central issue; or a creative artwork based on or inspired by a Japanese artist or style with an explanatory paper of 4-5 pages.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Database Search Tips

When search databases, keep these techniques in mind.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

 "Japanese art"  finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get Japanese and art

Add more words when you want to narrow your search. Use the word AND to connect different concepts.

 "ink painting" and calligraphy

Use OR to find related terms.

  pottery or ceramics

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

paint* retrieves paint, paints, painters, painting, etc.

Databases

Use the following databases to find articles on your topic. You may search by keyword, subject, or author.

Oxford Art Online

Covers biographies, criticism, country surveys, artistic styles and movements, art forms, subject matter and iconography, and techniques. Note: Limit of 3 simultaneous users.

Search Primo

Primo is a good starting point for  searching for books and e-books, videos, selected articles, digital media, and more. Sign in to access electronic resources.

Primo Search Tips

  • Use the pull-down scoping options to search Collins, Summit and Articles OR Collins and Summit, OR just Collins.
    • Collins, Summit and Articles, etc.: This is the default scope. It includes everything in the Collins and Summit scopes, as well as selected articles from journals, magazines, and newspapers. Articles not immediately available online, or in the library, can be requested via interlibrary loan (ILL).
    • Collins and Summit: Includes the Collins scope, as well as information about the collections of the 39 Northwest academic libraries participating in Summit. Items not immediately available from Collins can be borrowed through Summit.
    • Collins: Information about books, e-books, media, maps, scores, government publications, microformats, journals and e-journals owned, or subscribed to, by Collins Library, Slater Museum of Natural History, and CES.
  • Use quotes to search for "exact titles."
  • Use the facets in the right-hand sidebar to quickly navigate through search results.
  • Use Advanced Search to perform more granular searches.

Subject Search Terms

Books in Primo are assigned Library of Congress Subject Headings.  In many ways, subject headings are a form of tagging, in that they represent the content of the material and provide ways for you to efficiently locate more materials that are conceptually related. 

Below are examples of subject headings useful for finding books about a particular topic within Japanese Art.

Art, Japanese Buddhist art Japan
Art, Japanese Influences Painting, Japanese
Art, Japanese 20th Century  Painting, Japanese Meiji period
Art, Japanese Exhibitions  Shinto art
Art Chinese, Japanese Influences  Sculpture Japanese
Art, Japanese Western Influences  Porcelain Japanese

East and West in Art

Westerners in Asian Art

Zen Art Japan

Art Modern Japanese Influences

Japanese scrolls

Calligraphy, Japanese

Japanese Tea Ceremony
Color Prints Japanese Women artists Japan
Ukiyoe Gardens Japanese
   

Locating Sources

Use the map to locate physical items in the library's collection. For specific call numbers, use the location chart.