Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Digital Humanities: Collins Platforms and Collections

Library Collections

Archives & Special Collections

The A&SC offer the opportunity for students to engage in original research with archival primary source materials and rare books.

Some ways to include A&SC collections in DH-inflected student projects include:

Digital Collections

Collins Library subscribes to many multimedia and full-text or full-image databases (the distinction is important for DH work!).

  • Multimedia Collections
    Note that there are copyright issues to be addressed if student work that incorporates media files is to be made available freely online.

    ARTstor:  Image collection
    Theatre in Video:  Performances of more than 250 plays
    Naxos Music Library:  Provides streaming access to almost 100,000 CD recordings of classical and world music.

  • Digital Primary Source Collections Compatible with Text Analysis Tools:

    
Text analysis tools require text-based digital collections (typically, scans that have been through the OCR or other text-encoding process).

ACLS Humanities E-Books:  Many of the scholarly editions of primary sources have been OCR-ed or encoded.
ARTFL:  Includes the full text of the eighteenth-century Encyclopedie.
Lexis-Nexis Academic:  Full-text resource for most major newspapers.  Coverage typically dates from the early 1990s forward.
Literature Resource Center:  Poems and short stories from literary journals typically are provided in both full text and full image formats.
Project Muse:  Creative writing from literary journals is provided in both full text (html) and full image (PDF) formats.

Digital Platforms

Collins Library supports two digital platforms that offer rich potential for DH projects:

ARTStor

A  library of digital images of works of art and cultural materials, descriptive information about the works recorded in these images, and tools to work with the images and their documentation, ARTstor currently includes over 1.6 million digital images covering art, architecture, archaeology, the humanities, sciences and other areas, from a wide range of cultures and time periods. Puget Sound users can access and download these images as well as the over 15, 000 images that have been created in-house and added to ARTstor.

ARTstor has recently announced a Digital Humanities Award.  For additional information:  http://www.artstor.org/news/n-html/digital-humanities.shtml

Some ways that faculty and students can use ARTstor include:

  • Curating an online exhibit associated with the topic or theme of the class.  For example, in a course on Victorian fiction, students could select images that illustrate details from a selected text.  For a course on civil rights, students might curate a photo essay using ARTstor's extensive photographic and art images.  In a course on women in medieval culture, students could trace depictions of the Virgin Mary over time. The ARTstor blog provides lots of inspiration and ideas.
  • Using the Digital Commons platform, original images may be made accessible to the larger academic community.  This level of access must be reviewed in advance by the Digital Projects Advisory Committee of the library.  See the Shared Shelf Digital Commons for possible projects:    http://www.sscommons.org/openlibrary/welcome.html#1

Sound Ideas Digital Repository

Sound Ideas represents the scholarship and creative works of the faculty, staff and students of the University of Puget Sound. Sound Ideas, organized and made accessible by Collins Memorial Library, demonstrates our institutional commitment to helping enrich the global academic community through sharing and collaboration.  Projects associated with the Sound Ideas platform must be reviewed in advance by the Digital Projects Advisory Committee.

Here some ways to incorporate Sound Ideas as a platform for student work:

These types of projects offer students the ability to edit and review publications, describe and document publications, and create an online digital publication.

Focus on: Wordle

Wordle is a simple text analysis tool that creates a visual representation of word frequencies in a text.  Here, for example, is the visual representation of the 75 words appearing most frequently in Melville's Moby Dick.

This Wordle was created by the writer Caleb Crain and shared in his blog, SteamThing.