Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Current News Coverage
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national news sources including newspapers, wire services and broadcast transcripts. Nexis also covers regional newspapers, international news, and non-English language sources.
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
New York Times (ProQuest)
Includes The New York Times; Late Edition (East Coast), New York Times Magazine, and New York Times Book Review. Featured is national and international news, plus coverage of important speeches and documents, Supreme Court decisions and presidential press conference transcripts. Coverage begins in 1980.
Wall Street Journal
In-depth news coverage of national and international finance as well as coverage of hard news.
Recommended Sociology Databases
Major database for sociological literature; contains primarily scholarly work.
Offers comprehensive coverage of sociology encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study.
Academic Search Premier
General database covering scholarly, general interest, and news articles across all fields.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings and anthologies.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies' databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
High-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive.
Social Science Premium Collection (ProQuest)
This collection provides access to multiple databases covering the international literature in the social sciences, including politics, sociology, social services, anthropology, criminology and education. Featured databases include IBSS, PAIS and Sociological Abstracts.
This guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Andrea!
Social Sciences Liaison Librarian
tel: (253) 879-2875
office: Collins Library 141
Request an Appointment with Andrea
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.