Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 369: Chinese Art in the 20th and 21st centuries: Articles

Examples of Journals

Note: Some titles are electronic while others are print only.

Asianart.com

Ars Orientalis

Journal of Asian Studies
Note: Backfile is available through JStor

Artibus Asiae (print)
Note: Backfile is available through JStor

Oriental Art  (print)

Arts of Asia (print)

Art and AsiaPacific

Orientations  (print)

Yishu : Journal of contemporary Chinese art (print)

Tip: Check the Primo  for more information about these titles.

 

Practice

Database Practice: Art Related Databases

Using the art related databases (search box to your right), search for articles about the use of animals in Chinese art.

What search terms did you use?

How many articles did you find?

If you found too little, what are some ways to broaden your search? If you found too much, what are some ways to narrow your search?

Database Search Tips

When searching databases, keep these techniques in mind for more effective searches.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

Use quotation marks for two or more words when you want to find that exact phrase.

"Contemporary Chinese art"  finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get Chinese and contemporary and art which yields broader search results.

Add more words when you want to narrow your search. Use the word AND to connect different concepts.

China AND "performance art"

Use OR to find related terms. OR broadens a search.

modern OR postmodern OR avant-garde

"Chinese art" AND (modern or postmodern or avant-garde)

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

paint* retrieves paint, paints, painters, painting, etc.

(China or Chinese) AND art AND communism AND paint*

Art Related Databases

Search Jstor

 

JSTOR
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

Also try these databases

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.