Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ARTH 360: Greek Art: Articles

This library guide is a starting point for students enrolled in Art History 360.. It provides links and information relevant to the research paper assignment.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.

Database Search Tips

When search databases, keep these techniques in mind.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

 "Greek antiquities"  finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get Greek and antiquities

Add more words when you want to narrow your search. Use the word AND to connect different concepts.

animals and "Greek art"

Use OR to find related terms.

"red figured vases"  or "Greek vase painting"

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

paint* retrieves, paint or paints, or painters, or painting, etc.

JSTOR

JSTOR

An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.

JSTOR Practice

1.  Suppose you are intrigued by the Laocoon and you want to see what kind of scholarly material is available.  You go to JSTOR and type in laocoon in the basic search.  What happens?

2.  Now navigate to the advanced search interface in JSTOR.  What options are available to you?  What choices do you think might make the most sense here?  Try several different options and note the differences in results.  Based on your experience here, what is the best advice you could provide to a student who was new to database searching?

Art & Humanities Databases

Interdisciplinary Databases

Databases Practice

Select one of the following broad topics and build a search strategy for it in one of the databases.  What combination of search terms and strategies works best?  Why?

  • Greek temples
  • Images of women in Greek art
  • Red figured vases
  • Greek sculpture