Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Not Sure Where to Start?
As you seek secondary scholarly sources, try these strategies:
- Search Primo for specific titles identified in the bibliographies of encyclopedia entries. Once you've found that book, look for its Library of Congress Subject Headings. Click on a subject heading to find more books like this.
- Browse through Oxford Bibliographies Online: African Studies. Once you find a book or article that seems relevant, search for it in Primo.
Databases for Finding Scholarly Articles
Archive of scholarly journals in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences. Note that there is an "embargo" of 2-10 years on recent content for almost all journals.
Tip: Scholarly articles on aspects of African history, society and culture are published in a wide range of academic journals in several different disciplines. For this reason, we recommend that you do not limit your searches in JSTOR to just "African Studies" journals.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.