Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Useful Books in the Print Collection
Students who are studying remotely may request scans of portions of the books below. Simply click on the Primo record, sign in, and you'll see the "Digitize It" request link. You can learn more about this new service on our guide for remote students.
The Great Ming Code by
Call Number: KNN33.A4 E55 2005
Publication Date: 2004
Imperial China's dynastic legal codes
Subject Encyclopedias are scholarly works written by experts on a variety of topics. The articles are typically longer and more detailed than general encyclopedias. The background information provides a good starting point as you begin the research process. Subject encyclopedias can help guide you with:
- Understanding the scope of a topic
- Suggesting ideas for narrowing a topic
- Identifying key concepts, terms, dates and names
- Listing subject areas related to a topic
- Recommending sources for further exploration
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by
Call Number: Click on the title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2002
The Encyclopedia's comparative, cross-cultural approach examines the similarities and differences among Asian nations and religions. The work focuses on Asia in the modern world and contemporary issues are given full and authoritative treatment.
General Research Guides/Commentary on Law in China
China's Legal System by
Call Number: Click on title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2014
Legal scholar Pitman Potter examines the ideals and practices of China's legal regime, in light of international standards and local conditions.
The Legal System of the People's Republic of China by
Call Number: Print Books KNQ70 .C498 2009
Publication Date: 2009
This book examines all major legal institutions in China, including the law-making organs, courts, procuratorates, police, and the legal profession.
The China Collection. A blog maintained by several scholars with expertise in Chinese law.
China: Guide to Law Online. Comprehensive and frequently updated site maintained by law librarians at the Library of Congress.
Work with a Peer Research Advisor!
Virtual Drop-in Hours
Sunday through Wednesday: 6:30 to 8:30 pm PST (Pacific Standard Time)
We use Google Meet:
Allie and Hannah are also available for individual appointments. Go to our Schedule a Research Appointment page, click the request button, and select either Hannah or Allie from the drop-down menu to see what appointment times they have available.