Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chinese Court Decisions
Like most nations, China has courts that decide (& help settle) disputes between parties. But few court decisions ever get translated into English. For some examples of those that do get translated, see:
American Viewpoints: U.S. Newspapers & Magazines
Be sure to match the date of your chosen trial to the date ranges of the databases you are searching!
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Massive full text database of national and international newspapers. Coverage varies by title, but typically goes back no further than the late 1990s. An important exception is The Guardian, for which full text coverage goes back to 1984.
Access World News
Find global information on topics related to business and economics, the environment, global issues, health, international studies, literature, performing and fine arts, politics and government, science, social issues, technology and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos and web-only content.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Full text, full image from 1851 through 2010.
Los Angeles Times Historical Newspaper (1881-1995)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue of the Los Angeles Times newspaper.
The National Newspapers Core contains access, from the early 1980s forward, to The New York Times including The New York Times Book Review and The New York Times Magazine, the Wall Street Journal and Wall Street Journal Online, the Washington Post, the Los Angeles Times, and The Christian Science Monitor. The content of all the newspapers can be searched simultaneously, or a user can choose which newspaper(s) to search within.
Full text from 1865 to the present
Academic Search Premier
Limit your results to magazines. Contains full text for many major American and British magazines from the 1980s forward.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Limit your results to magazines. Indexes or includes the full text of many American magazines.
Chinese Laws and Regulations in English Translation
Chinese Viewpoints: News & Editorials
- Chinese Laws and Regulations. This database contains links to the official English translations of major Chinese laws and regulations, including the Constitution.
- The Peking Review / The Beijing Review. The Communist Party of the People's Republic of China began publication of this journal in 1958. It consists primarily of English translations of articles and editorials that first appeared in official Chinese-language newspapers and magazines, although some extra content is occasionally provided.
Collins Library owns all issues of The Peking Review from volume one (1958) through volume 21 (1978). Take a look at the catalog record to determine the format available for the dates that you need; you'll see that volumes from 1958 to 1966 are available in microfilm, while volumes from 1967 through 1978 are available in print. The Beijing Review (catalog record) is available in print format from 1979 to the present.
Both print and microfilm are located on the lower level of the library (see map). Many of the issues have been digitized.
- China Daily (North American edition). Collins Library keeps three months of current issues in the west reading room on the first floor of the library. The European edition of China Daily from 2012 to the present is available through LexisNexisAcademic.
- The Global Times (CCP/PRC government-affiliated publication). Available through LexisNexisAcademic from 2012 to the present.
- Global Voices Online. Curates and translates news trends from international news, blogs, and social media. May be an option for researching voices and opinions coming from within China, but not from the Party.
- China Digital Times. A website based in Berkeley, California, this resource often translates official Chinese government pronouncements.
- Many Chinese news sources are available on the internet, in both Chinese and in English. Most of these online resources include coverage dating back only about a year or so.
People's Daily English
Note that this is the newspaper's website. Paper copies of the North American edition are kept for the most current three months in Collins Library. The European edition is available full text in LexisNexis from 2012 to the present.
China View (New China News Agency)
China Youth International
CRI Online and CRI English
China Economic Net
Xinhua (official press agency of PRC)