Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
National Palace Museum, Taipei
Most of the artifacts from the NPM's collection came from The Palace Museum the preparatory department of the Nanjing Museum (previously the "National Central Museum"). Of the said artifacts, the majority was previously owned by the Jehol and Shenyang temporary palaces. This signifies that the NPM's current artifact collection contains Qing court artifacts from The Palace Museum, the Jehol temporary palace, and the Shenyang temporary palace.
Palace Museum, Beijing
Established in 1925, the Palace Museum is located in the imperial palace of the consecutive Ming (1368-1644) and Qing (1644-1911) dynasties. The magnificent architectural complex, also known as the Forbidden City, has vast holdings of paintings, calligraphy, ceramics, and antiquities of the imperial collections. Currently, the total number of works of art in the Museum's collection exceeds 1.8 million.
As the American national museum of Asian art, the Freer Gallery of Art and the Arthur M. Sackler Gallery preserve, exhibit, and interpret Asian art in ways that deepen our understanding of Asia, America, and the world.
The Chinese collection includes the Buddhist paintings from the Dunhuang caves in Central Asia and the Admonitions of the Court Instructress (also called the Admonitions scroll), widely regarded as the most important scroll-painting in the history of Chinese art. It also includes examples of lacquer, bronze, jade, Chinese ceramics, and porcelain. The department also has one of the earliest and largest ethnographic collections of textiles and everyday objects from Southeast Asia.
Google Arts & Culture
Images of objects from museums and cultural institutions globally.
ARTstor is a large collection of digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences from museums, photographers, libraries, scholars, photo archives, and artists and artists' estates. Click on the ARTstor logo to begin your search.
When you click on the title, you will connect to the Primo record. Click on view it to access the video.
Ai Weiwei : Never Sorry by
Call Number: DVD / Video Collection (N7349.A5 A4 2012 )
Publication Date: 2012
This is a documentary that chronicles artist and activist Ai Weiwei as he prepares for a series of exhibitions and gets into an increasing number of clashes with the Chinese government. Follows Ai "from the close of the 2008 Beijing Olympics (for which he helped design the acclaimed 'Bird's Nest' stadium) to his arrest and 81-day detention in 2011" (container).
Project 798 New Art in New China by
Call Number: DVD / Video Collection (N7347.B45 P76 2010 )
Publication Date: 2010
Project 798 is a documentary about the Chinese contemporary art scene, filmed on location in '798', Beijing's unique art district.
Call Number: DVD / Video Collection (N7349.A5 S8 2010 )
Publication Date: 2010
Produced by China Institute in America ; executive producer, France Pepper; Photography, Yang Ze.