Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
These e-journal collections have a multidisciplinary scope and may be useful especially when you are beginning your research. However, they are limited in the number of journals they cover and in the dates of coverage. In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles.
JSTOR is an online archive of select scholarly journals. Because it is an archive, current content from journals is not included. The "embargo" on current content ranges from one to ten years, depending on the journal.
Project Muse provides full-text access to journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage of journals typically begins in the late 1990s or later.
Recommended Subject Database
Begin your search for scholarly articles and essays with this subject database. A subject index guides you through the most comprehensive selection of scholarly materials.
L'Année Philologique is a bibliography containing citations of all known scholarly work on classical antiquity published in any language, anywhere in the world. Its subjects are Greek and Latin literature and linguistics, including early Christian texts and patristics, Greek and Roman history, philosophy, art, archaeology, religion, mythology, music, and science. Its coverage begins in the second millennium B. C. E. with pre-classical archaeology, and ends with the period of transition from late antiquity to the middle ages (roughly 500-800 C.E.).
Additional Subject Databases
In addition to searching APh, and depending on your focus, you'll want to search some or all of these databases as well.
A database for ancient history, classical philology, and archaeology, this is an international bibliographical index to monographs, journal articles, conference papers, essays in collections, and dissertations in many languages. It can be searched from 1990-present by subject, author, keyword, and/or publication.
Humanities International Complete
Includes scholarly articles of interest to Classicists from all disciplines in the humanities and arts, ranging from dance to religion.
Useful for identifying scholarly articles on ancient Greece and Rome from archaeological and anthropological perspectives.
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials
Includes scholarly articles on religion in the ancient Mediterranean and Near East.
Art Full Text
Database for art history, including some archaeology.
Especially useful for archaeological dating.