Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Note: Please see detailed instructions posted on Canvas.
You will be divided into groups each of which will be assigned a portion of one of three books that we will study. Your group is to study the book and develop a creative mixed media presentation as a way of teaching the class the contents of the book. Each book will be presented and discussed in a single class session. Each group will have approximately 25 minutes for presentation and 10 minutes for discussion and question and answer interaction.Your presentation may take any form but it must include some kind of handout for the class. This handout may be an outline of the chapters.
Include some broad sense of or introduction to the author of the text; the main points and issues of each chapter in the section of chapters that you are assigned; central characters, figures and contexts raised by the content of the portion of the text that you are assigned; aspects of the content that you think represent key, pivotal, central or pervading themes of the text. In composing your presentation, as for instance, in writing an essay and a research paper, thinking of elements of the text that you would like to use as examples of what you are conveying – especially elements that you find compelling – is a useful preparation and presentation strategy.
Books for the Assignment
Their Eyes Were Watching God by
Call Number: PS3515.U789 T45 1991
Publication Date: 1991
Initially published in 1937, this novel about a proud, independent black woman has, since its reissue in trade paper in 1978, been the most widely read and highly acclaimed novel in the canon of African-American literature. With this richly illustrated new edition, the novel is finally accorded the treatment it deserves as a classic.
The Souls of Black Folk by
Call Number: E185.5 D81 2004
This 100th Anniversary edition of Du Bois's most widely read book offerssignificant updates and advantages over all other editions of this classic of AfricanAmerican history. A new Introduction by Manning Marable, Du Bois' biographer and eminent historian, puts The Souls of Black Folk into context for 21st Century readers and recounts Du Bois' life-long relationship with his text, which Du Bois continued to rework over many decades. A rarely seen 1953 Re-Introduction by Du Bois is included in this edition, as are the many corrections and changes Du Bois made to the original text during this era. Finally,an explication of the Du Bois text in the new Foreword by Charles Lemert helps the reader better understand the book's historical and current relevance.
Search Primo for books that provide criticism and interpretation. Copy and paste the terms below into the catalog's search box.
- Du Bois, W. E. B. Criticism and interpretation
- Du Bois, W. E. B. political and social views
- "souls of black folk"
- Washington Booker T political and social views
- Washington Booker T criticism
- Washington, Booker T., 1856-1915. Up from slavery.
- Hurston, Zora Neale Handbooks, manuals, etc.
- Hurston, Zora Neale. Their eyes were watching God.
- Hurston, Zora Neale Criticism and interpretation
Streaming Films on Hurston and Du Bois
These films are a few examples of streaming media available through Films on Demand.
Zora Neale Hurston Jump at the Sun
Zora Neale Hurston, trailblazing novelist and pioneering anthropologist, is responsible for establishing African-American vernacular as a valid voice in literature. With the rediscovery by the modern academic community of Their Eyes Were Watching God, Hurston became one of the first black women to enter the American literary canon. This definitive film biography portrays Hurston in all her complexity: gifted, flamboyant, controversial, and always fiercely original. The program intersperses insights from scholars and rare footage of the rural South (some of it shot by Hurston herself) with reenactments of a revealing 1943 radio interview—and examines her life both as a writer and as an ethnographer.
Fighting Back illustrates the early rise of a successful black middle class and the determination of white supremacists to destroy fledgling black political power. The growing oppression had a profound effect on a professor at Atlanta University, W.E.B. Du Bois, and a teenage mail carrier named Walter White. Both would become leaders of a newly founded organization to fight Jim Crow: the National Association for the Advancement of Colored People. The episode ends with the violence at home giving way to warfare abroad as thousands of black Americans depart for battle in World War I.
Databases: Background Information
Oxford African American Studies Center
A collection of full text materials focusing on the lives and events which have shaped African and African American history and culture. Includes biographies, images, primary source documents with commentaries, maps, tables and charts, and thematic timelines.
Access limited to 3 simultaneous users.
Use background sources to enhance your understanding of the book.
The social sciences platform for SAGE and CQ Press books, reference materials and other content.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Databases: Specialized Sources
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
Humanities International Complete
Access to Humanities International Complete will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after April 30, 2021.
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources covering all aspects of the humanities, with worldwide content pertaining to literary, scholarly and creative thought.
Literature Resource Center
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.
America: History & Life
Indexes articles, books, essays in books, and dissertations on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
use to find reviews when book was first published as well as later writings about the book
New York Times Historical Newspaper
use to find reviews when book was first published