Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

BIOL 379: Ornithology: Articles

Searching for Articles in Databases

Finding Full Text of Articles

There are three methods for obtaining the actual articles you wish to read:

Method 1: In some databases, you will be able to link directly to the full-text article. Look around, as different databases have different interfaces. Look for a link or buttons that says "Check for Full Text" or Download PDF or similar. If given the choice between a PDF or HTML version of the article, always choose the PDF format. This will give you an exact image, including page numbers, of the article as it appears in the paper journal.

Method 2: If a direct link to full text is not available, then check Primo Search  or use the Primo Journal Search Box below to see if the library subscribes to the journal. Search for the title of the journal that the article was published in.

You may find that there is online access available for this journal. Check the dates that are available...most of the time the link will say "Fulltext access available from 19xx." Check to see whether the article that you're looking for was published during the date range that is available. If so, then click the 'View fulltext' link and either browse through past issues, or look for a "search within this publication" link until you find the article that you need.  You may find that Primo says the journal is available at Collins Memorial Library Print Journals, which means we have the journal physically in the library.  If the article you are looking for is only available in print in the library rather than online, in which case you  you will need to check either the current periodicals area on the first floor, or go downstairs to the basement to find the bound volumes of periodicals.  If the periodical is available only in microform, you may submit a request for electronic delivery of the article via your ILLiad account.

Method 3: If your searching indicates that the article is not available in any format, then request the article through ILLiad, the interlibrary loan service. ( Most databases include links to ILLiad within each record.) It usually takes about a week or less to receive an electronic copy of the article.

And at any time if you have questions, send Eli an email! 

Primo Journal Search

Type in the title of the journal, not the title of the article!

Need Help?

 Stuck? Need Help? Don't hesitate to contact Eli!

Eli Gandour-Rood, Science Librarian
egandourrood@pugetsound.edu

tel: (253) 879-3678

Click Here to Schedule a Virtual Appointment!

Key Database: Biology Collection

Biology Collection is our broadest biology database, and is a great place to start your research! It includes Biological Sciences, Medline, Zoological Record, BioOne abstracts, and more. It has links to check for full text within Primo, or to request articles via interlibrary loan. Enter your search terms in the box below to get started!

Searching Google Scholar

Google Scholar is a powerful search tool. See below for tips about using Google Scholar to do cited reference searching.

Google Scholar Cited Reference Search

Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found. 

Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.

  • Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page. 

Google Scholar Library Links

Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but it can be inconsistent in its coverage, so it is best if used for supplemental research. There are two features to be aware of when using Google Scholar. The first is to be sure to set up your preferences in Google Scholar to access articles online that are available at Collins Library!

  • Step 1 On the Google Scholar page, click on the small 'Settings' icon at the top of the screen. 

  • Step 2: Choose 'library links' from the options on the left hand side, then type 'Puget Sound' into the search box.

 

  • Step 3: When the results appear, click the check boxes next to the three options that include 'Univ of Puget Sound' or 'University of Puget Sound' in the title. 

  • Step 4: Conduct a search, and look for the links that say 'viewitAPugetSound' on the right hand side next to results. Click those links to check Primo Search for access to the articles!