Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Bio Databases
BioOne Open Access
Subjects: biological, ecological and environmental sciences. Offers full text peer-reviewed journals.
Academic Search Premier
This is a multi-disciplinary database containing full text for more than 4,600 journals, including nearly 3,900 peer-reviewed titles. It's a good place to find some scholarly math articles, and many popular mathematics articles.
The premier scholarly biomedical database, broadly covering all health and life sciences, with a focus on medicine.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.
Key Scientific Database: Biology Collection
Searching Google Scholar
Google Scholar can be a powerful search tool, but is has strengths (cited reference searching, breadth of coverage in the natural sciences) and weaknesses (inconsistency and inaccuracy, lack of coverage in humanities, etc). See below for tips about using Google Scholar to do cited reference searching.
Google Scholar Cited Reference Search
Another useful feature of Google Scholar is its ability to allow for easily finding articles which have cited an article that you have found.
Step 1: When looking at search results, check for the 'Cited by X' link underneath each result. That will tell you how many subsequent articles (that Google Scholar is aware of...it's not 100% comprehensive! This is a ballpark figure) have cited this particular article.
- Step 2: Click that link, and you will be taken to a new set of results, all of which have cited the original article, which will still be listed at the top of the page.