Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Academic Search Premier
General database covering scholarly, general interest, and news articles across all fields.
MLA International Bibliography
The key database for identifying scholarly books, essays, articles, and dissertations on modern literature in all languages. Also covers cultural studies, folklore, film studies, and linguistics.
High-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Women’s Studies International and Men’s Studies' databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues. GSD covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
The online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) contains over 750,000 records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present. The BAS includes citations to Western-language periodical articles, monographs, chapters in edited volumes, conference proceedings and anthologies.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets
A web-based research solutions tool that provides access to data from licensed and public domain datasets within an easy to use interface.
ERIC (Education Resource Information Center)
Covers all aspects of education and related topics.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
Search Sociological Abstracts
Major database for sociological literature; contains primarily scholarly work.
Provides full text access to American Anthropological Association publications.
Indexes material in the areas of social, cultural, physical, biological and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture and interdisciplinary studies.
Selected Sociology Journals
The International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy
The International Journal of Sociology and Social Policy is genuinely global in its reach and scope, providing an interdisciplinary forum for research and debate in sociology and social policy, with a focus on topics related to economic and management issues (e.g. corporate social responsibility, business ethics, work organisation, entrepreneurship). - See more at: http://www.emeraldgrouppublishing.com/products/journals/journals.htm?id=ijssp#sthash.z8VqoW4O.dpuf
Sociology of Education
Sociology of Education provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development.
Du Bois Review
This peer-reviewed journal is devoted to research and criticism on race in the social sciences.
What's a secondary source?
In secondary sources, authors analyze and interpret primary source materials.
Secondary sources can be scholarly or popular. Scholarly sources (sometimes called "academic" or "peer-reviewed" sources) are written by and for experts and typically include bibliographies and citations. Popular sources are written for a general, non-expert audience and can be authored by anyone.