Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Source Anthologies
Anthologies of primary sources, typically edited and annotated by scholars, offer another useful avenue for perusing primary source materials. Here are a few selections, available for check out at Collins Library. Ask Peggy Burge for more recommendations!
The French Revolution Sourcebook by
Call Number: Print books DC136.A2 F72 1999
Publication Date: 1998
This collection of original documents examines the constitutional and political problems of France between 1785-1795.
Clothing, Society and Culture in Nineteenth-Century England by
Call Number: Print books HD9940.G82 C56 2011
Publication Date: 2010
This three-volume collection brings together rare documents and unpublished manuscript material, covering the economics of buying and selling clothes, the art of dressmaking and its democratization and issues specific to working class dress during the Victorian and Edwardian periods.
Online Primary Source Collections
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
ARTFL is a database of nearly 2000 French texts, covering time periods from medieval to the 20th century and subjects of literary criticism, biology, history, economics and philosophy.
A digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images.
Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library is a comprehensive collection of classical music available online. You can select works by composer, artist, period, year of composition, instrument or genre. Playlists can also be created. Includes information about the works, artists and composers.