Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History 102: Western Civilization, 1648-1991: Secondary Sources

Research strategies and resources for your blog post and mini-research assignment

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of History, but they are more limited in coverage compared to subject databases.  In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use the "Check for Full Text" icon to link to the materials in these e-journal collections.  However, if you are seeking interdisciplinary perspectives, these collections can be good options.

History Databases

There are several databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work.  Most databases for historians focus on a particular geographical and/or chronological period.  Always make sure that you've selected the most appropriate database to search!

Database Search Tips

Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:

Search Technique   What It Does
quotation marks Searches for exact phrase
Truncation (usually an *) Searches for all forms of a word
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) Lets you broaden or narrow your search
Database thesaurus or index             Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses

Here's an example in action: