Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Production History Overview
Production history covers original and subsequent productions. Writers generally discuss:
- Overall evaluation of the production
- Theatrical innovations
- Casting, acting
- Substance or meaning of the play
- Other details
Prompts for Production History
Note: Check the assignment handout for details.
Use these questions to guide your research about production history:
- What is the production history of this play? Where and when has this play been produced?
- How was it received?
- What notable artists have worked on it?
- What design, casting, staging or producing choices were made? Why were those choices successful/unsuccessful in their time/location?
- What contributed to the success/failure of this play in the past?
- What aesthetic choices elevated/opened up the piece? What aesthetic choices collapsed the piece?
Playbills and Production Catalogs
New York Times (nytimes.com)
Full and unlimited access to all of the content on The New York Times web site. Users must register and log in. Once you’ve registered for an account, which you must do from within the campus network (i.e. on-campus), you may “log in” to that account from anywhere, anytime.
In order to register from off-campus you may utilize vDesk. Technology Services provides information on utilizing vDesk: https://www.pugetsound.edu/about/offices-services/technology-services/vdesk-2/
Once on the campus network, or connected to vDesk, to register go to: https://nytimesineducation.com/access-nyt/
And search for "University of Puget Sound."
Click "Create Account" and complete the registration fields using your @pugetsound.edu email address.
If you have previously registered your email address on The NYT site, click the "Already have an account? Log in here" link just below the "Create Account" button.
Access to the nytimes.com is partially supported by a contribution from ASUPS.
New York Times Historical Newspaper
Includes full page images of the New York Daily Times (1851-1857) and the New York Times (1857-2017).
Nexis Uni (formerly LexisNexis Academic)
Access to thousands of English language newspapers from 1980s to the present. Search by subject/topic and select "all news." Use the advanced option to limit to theatre reviews and interviews
News & Newspapers (ProQuest)
Contains all of the news content provided to Puget Sound by ProQuest. Includes alternative, national, international, local and historical news.
Provides cover-to-cover full text for national (U.S.) newspapers, including The Christian Science Monitor, USA Today, The Washington Post and The Washington Times. The database also contains selective full text for regional (U.S.) newspapers. Also includes international news sources including The Times (London), The Toronto Star and others.
London Times Digital Archive
Since its first publication in 1785, The Times (London) has become one of the most preeminent, global daily (except Sundays) newspapers of the 18th century through the early 21st century, covering international events, people, places, politics, business news, opinion and debate, entertainment, and advertising.
Journal and Magazine Databases
Performing Arts Periodicals Database
Provides indexing, abstracts and some full-text, for international periodicals. Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry - including dance, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, circus performance, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic, performance art, film, television and more.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database containing full text journal, magazine & newspaper articles, many from peer-reviewed titles. This scholarly collection covers information in nearly every area of academic study.
Research Library (ProQuest)
Features the full text of a diversified mix of scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines and newspapers covering all academic subject areas.
Contains full text periodicals covering general reference, business, health, education, general science, multicultural issues and much more. Also contains full text reference books, primary source documents, as well as an Image Collection of photos, maps & flags.
Criticism and interpretation
Use this source to identify productions and then search the newspaper databases for the review
Contains the complete texts of many Oxford companions, encyclopedias, dictionaries and other reference titles in a fully indexed, cross-searchable database. Included in addition to articles are images, maps, timelines, bibliographies, photographs and much more.
Provides full text online access to Gale electronic books, including encyclopedias and other reference resources.
Literature Resource Center
Contains articles from academic journals and literary magazines as well as excerpts from scholarly monographs, literary correspondence and diaries.
Publisher Website: Samuel French's website may include reviews, author profile, and a list of productions for specific plays.
Theatre website: Look for a guide to the play.
Official author website, blog, or Facebook page:
Search the suggested databases for newspapers, journals, and magazines.Include the word interview in your search.