Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SOAN 101: Introduction to Sociology (Struna): Articles

Creating Effective Search Statements

When conducting research in a database it's important to be thoughtful of the specific search terms you are using, and how they might impact your results.

Consider alternative terms or synonyms that describe your key concepts, and that could possibly improve or change your search results.

 Key Concept

 Synonyms or Alternative Ways of Phrasing

 Women   Female OR Gender OR Sex
 Wage  Salary OR Income OR Employment

Adapted from Teaching Information Literacy by J. Burkhardt & M. MacDonald.

Structure a search statement that you can use while doing research in a database. Use Boolean Operators (AND, OR, NOT), and utilize some of the advanced search functions available to you.

Recommended Database

Database Search Tips

Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:

 Search Technique    What It Does
 Quotation marks  Searches for exact phrase
 Truncation (usually an *)  Searches for all forms of a word
 Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT)  Lets you broaden or narrow your search
 Database thesaurus or index              Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses

Additional Databases

Searching in Sociological Abstracts

While Sociological Abstracts is the most important sociology database University of Puget Sound subscribes to, it acts as an index rather than a full text provider. To access full text follow the steps below.

Begin your Sociological Abstracts search by entering search terms, and clicking the search button

 

Your results page will allow you to browse, sort, filter, and even modify the results of your initial search. To access full text of an article, Click the Find a Copy link.

 

In the next window, click the Check for Full Text link.

If the library has access to the article, links will appear with information about which databases the library has access to and what dates the library has coverage. Take care to select a database that has coverage for the publication date of the article you're seeking.

NOTE: If the library doesn't have access to this journal, you may request a copy via interlibrary loan.

Once you you navigate to the article in the linked database, you'll be able to access the article in full text.