Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start your searches with Historical Abstracts; this is the standard database for world history from 1450 to the present day. Depending on your topic, you also may need to search the History of Science, Technology and Medicine database.
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
History of Science, Technology and Medicine (HSTM)
An international bibliography for the history of science, technology, and medicine and their influence on culture, from pre-history to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials.
Evaluating Scholarly Articles
How will you use the articles you find? You'll want to have a rich and varied selection of scholarly secondary sources to help you craft your own argument and interpretation. Some things to look for in a secondary source:
- Evidence of scholarly disagreement: where will your argument fit in?
- Contextualization: Although the article may not be directly on your topic, it may help you contextualize your primary source materials.
- Methodology or approach: Through what lens does the scholar approach the topic? Do you agree with this approach, or would you suggest a different one?
- Currency: Humanities scholarship written within the last generation is likely to still be good, but you'll still want to make sure you have up to date work.
Depending on your topic and approach, you may wish to search some of these databases to supplement what you find in Historical Abstracts and/or History of Science, Technology and Medicine.
Arts & Humanities Database
Features hundreds of titles covering Art, Architecture, Design, History, Philosophy, Music, Literature, Theatre and Cultural Studies.
An interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences, as well as select monographs and other materials valuable for academic work.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with focus on humanities and social science.