Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Getting Started: Subject Encyclopedias for American Religion
The tertiary resources listed below will help enrich your understanding of the historical and cultural contexts of religion and queer politics. The bibliographies at the end of entries will be especially useful for getting started on your literature review.
Remember that tertiary sources are intended to fill in gaps in your knowledge or jumpstart your research; they should not be cited as scholarly secondary sources for your project.
Encyclopedia of American Religions by
Call Number: BL2525 .M449 2009 Print reference (on first floor of library)
Publication Date: 2009
Presents coverage of more than 2,500 North American religious groups in the U.S. and Canada. Entries contain essays and directory listings that describe the historical development of religious families and give factual information about each group within those families, including, where available, headquarter location, membership figures, a listing of educational facilities and information on periodicals published by the group.
Encyclopedia of Religion in America by
Call Number: Click on title above for online access.
Publication Date: 2010
A multidisciplinary examination of religion in American life. Examines how religious history and practices are woven into the political, social, cultural, and historical landscape of North America.
Encyclopedia of the American Religious Experience by
Call Number: BL2525 .E53 1988, v. 1-3, Print reference (on the first floor of library)
Publication Date: 1988
This set traces the effects of particular religions on American history and the influence of American culture on the growth of religions and religious movements. Includes essays on methodologies: historiography and sociological investigations of religion in America.
Encyclopedia of Women and Religion in North America by
Call Number: Reference BL458 .E52 2006 (first floor of library)
Publication Date: 2006
Harvests the fruits of 25 years of scholarship on the history and current state of women's religious experience in North America.