Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

ENGL 234: American Literature & Culture: Hamilton!: Primary Sources

This guide supports further research into Lin-Manuel Miranda's musical masterpiece, 'Hamilton'.

Primary Source Collections

Primary Source Collections (Print)

Writings & Correspondance

Search Primo

Finding Primary Sources with Primo

Library of Congress Subject Headings are also quite useful for discovering primary sources. The following subheadings usually are added to indicate that the material is a primary source: sources, personal narratives, correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, "early works to 1800" or notebooks.  Once you've discovered the subject heading for secondary sources, try adding one of the primary source subheadings to see what you find.  Here's an example:

Secondary source subject heading: United States -- History -- Revolution, 1775-1783
Primary source subject heading: United States -- History -- Revolution,  1775-1783 -- Sources

Puget Sound Archives & Special Collections

The Archives & Special Collections collects, preserves, and makes available primary source material for the research and teaching use of our students, faculty, and staff.  In addition to documenting life at the University, the collections represent regional, national and international issues. 

If you would like assistance researching primary sources in A&SC, please contact archives@pugetsound.edu.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Spring 2020 update:

The Archives & Special Collections is currently unable to host in-person researchers. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Primary Source Collections (Digital)

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.