Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Books: General Health and Fitness
The Smart Student's Guide to Healthy Living by
Call Number: RA777.3 .S63 2006 Print Books
Publication Date: 2006
A practical and engaging guide for college students, this book shows how food choices, fitness, and sleep and stress management can lead to better academic and creative performance.
The Doctor's Complete College Girls' Health Guide by
Call Number: RA778 .W53 2005 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2006
From the common cold to tattooing to what every girl should pack in her "campus health kit," you'll find it here. Written in consultation with college grads who've been there and done that.
The Rough Guide to Men's Health by
Call Number: RA777.8 .B73 2013 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2012
Provides health advice, life coach strategies, and information on getting back into shape, sex and relationships, returning to work, and staying sane.
The Pride Guide: a guide to sexual and social health for LGBTQ youth by
Call Number: HQ76.27.Y68 L36 2018 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2018
An indispensable resource written explicitly for the almost 10 percent of teenagers who identify as gay, lesbian, bisexual, trans, or any of the unique identities that are not heterosexual/cisgender. It explores sex, dating, relationships, puberty, and both physical and online safety
Featured Books: Cooking and Nutrition
College Cooking: feed yourself and your friends by
Call Number: TX652 .C3277 2007 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2007
Sisters Megan and Jill Carle share the tips and tricks they've learned while feeding themselves between late-night studying, papers, parties, and other distractions. Covers ingredients, equipment, and provides more than ninety simple yet tasteworthy recipes--hearty home-style dishes, study-break snacks, healthy salads, sweet treats, and more (along with low-cal and veggie options).
Food Allergies: a complete guide for eating when your life depends on it by
Call Number: RC588.D53 S56 2013 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2013
Allergy expert Scott H. Sicherer addresses the full spectrum of food allergies, from mild to life threatening, from single foods to food families, clearing up misconceptions along the way. Also covers food reactions that are not allergic (such as lactose intolerance), advises how to get adequate nutrition when you must avoid dietary staples, and discusses whether allergies ever go away (they do-and then sometimes they return).
Vegan on the Cheap by
Call Number: TX837 .R6252 2015 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2010
The ultimate vegan budget cookbook! Roberson provides easy recipes for delicious food that costs no more than $2 per serving!
Prep: the essential college cookbook by
Call Number: TX833.5 .M676 2019 Life Skills
Publication Date: 2019
A go-to guide for cooking basics. Centered around 10 basic lessons to get you comfortable in the kitchen, this book will get you whipping up nutritious meals, satisfying snacks, and simple desserts for you and your friends in no time. Also included are notes on knife skills, essential (and nonessential) cooking tools, and stocking your pantry.
Counseling, Health, and Wellness Services
CHWS offers counseling services, support groups, health care, wellness programs, insurance and immunization information, and more.
Dining and Conference Services
Information on Diversions café, the Diner, and the Cellar, including current menus.
Information about athletic facilities, intramurals, and club sports.
Information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues from the National Library of Medicine.
Website for the President's Council on Sports, Fitness, and Nutrition. Includes information on being active and healthy eating.
IDEA Health and Fitness Association
A leading organization of fitness and wellness professionals. Includes access to professional articles and full length training videos from the industry's top educators.
I Wanna Know.org
Offers information on sexual health for for teens and young adults, including facts, support and resources on topics like sexual health, sexually transmitted infections (STIs), healthy relationships, and more.
National Eating Disorders Association (NEDA)
Information on different types of eating providers, contributing factors and prevention, treatment, and recovery.
National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism
Leading the national effort to reduce alcohol-related problems through dissemination of research. Offers information about alcohol consumption, its effects on the body, and available support and treatment programs.
National Institute on Drug Abuse
Research and information seeking to significantly improve prevention, treatment and policy as it relates to drug abuse and addiction.
National Women's Health Information Center
Provides health information on topics like body image, girls' health, mental health, and violence against women.
Nutrition.gov is a gateway to reliable information on nutrition, healthy eating, physical activity, and food safety for consumers.
Substance and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)
Search for treatment programs, funding opportunities and statistics relating to substance abuse and mental health issues.