Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources: Creating OER Content

Guide and resources related to Open Education

PreTeXt

Developed by the University of Puget Sound faculty member, Rob Beezer, PreTeXt is described as "an uncomplicated XML vocabulary for authors of research articles, textbooks, and monographs." It was used to create many open textbooks including several at the University of Puget Sound.

 

Content Creation Resources

Content Creation Tools

Sharing your content can be as simple as placing a text document on your website...

  • If you are using Microsoft Office 2011 (PC only) you can download an Add-in that will allow you to place your selected CC license on your documents.  This license will also become part of the metadata for that document.  Find out more from the Microsoft Website
  • If you are using OpenOffice or LibreOffice, there is also a Creative Commons Add-in that allows license information to be embedded in OpenOffice.org Writer, Impress, Draw and Calc documents.  You can download  from OpenOffice and LibreOffice CC.  
  • There are other content creation applications that have CC licensing Add-Ins and a full list is available at the CC website.
  • You can use the CC license selector site to create HTML code to add to any webpage that you have made that you would like to share.  

If you would like to create and share your content in a repository designed for sharing Open Educational content,

  • Connexions (created and hosted at Rice University), provides a built in HTML editor and hosts your content in a public repository that allows them to mix and share.  You can export your content as a PDF or ePUB.
  • OER Commons Contribute Tools allow you to combine text, pictures, sound, files and video.  You can add CC licensing, print and download content as a PDF, and share with others through the OER Commons repository.

There are many additional ways to share your content with other educators.

  • OER Commons   The OER Commons is a single search source that pulls from multiple OER collections, including MERLOT and Connexions.   
    • Users can create collections of existing content and create their own content pages to share.
    • The OER Commons is a supported by ISKME (the Institute for the Study of Knowledge Management in Education).  
  • Connexions  includes lectures, assignments, and written educational materials.  Content can be created in the Connexions interface and housed within the Connections servers.  Users can create collections of existing content and create their own content pages to share. 
  • MERLOT (merlot.org) is a free and open peer reviewed collection of online teaching and learning materials and faculty-developed services contributed and used by an international education community. MERLOT was opened in 1997 and is supported by the California State University System.  
    • MERLOT does not house content, but is a collection of links to other content.  The materials can be ranked and many are peer-reviewed.  There are discipline specific Communities that curate and review the content.  
    • You can create and share personal collections of content links.

There are many other repositories that are focused on specific disciplines, many are listed on the Discipline Specific OER Guide.  For more on creating and hosting Open Educational Resources, or on Creative Commons licensing, contact Jen Waller, Cody Taylor, or your liaison librarian.

Open Access Tools & Materials

Within Canvas settings, it's possible to add the following Apps:

  • Khan
  • Ted Talks
  • Vimeo
  • YouTube
  • Films on Demand
  • Flickr

You can then search for and insert Open Access materials while editing any page.