Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The resources listed on this "Getting Started" tab should help you establish some basic context for the object that you will be researching for the "Life of an Object" assignment. However, you then should proceed to the "Researching Material Culture" tab to use more specialized resources.
These subject encyclopedias look specifically at women and gender in the premodern period.
Women and Gender in Medieval Europe by
Call Number: HQ1147.E85 W66 2006 Print reference (first floor)
Publication Date: 2006
A cross-disciplinary resource, this encyclopedia examines the daily reality of medieval women from all walks of life in Europe between 450 CE and 1500 CE.
Women in the Middle Ages: An Encyclopedia by
Call Number: HQ1143 .W643 2004 v.1-2, Print reference
Publication Date: 2004
This encyclopedia offers coverage of the myriad roles, experiences, and contributions of women in the medieval world.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Indexes scholarly books, articles, essays, and dissertations pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Indexes articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations on all aspects of world history from 1450 to the present. Does not include United States and Canadian history, which is covered in America: History and Life.
Gender Studies Database
The Gender Studies Database covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. GSD may help you identify scholarly journal articles that are not indexed in either ITER or Historical Abstracts.
JSTOR is a high-quality, interdisciplinary journal archive. It includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences. It typically does not provide access to current issues of journals; the embargo on current content ranges from two to ten years.
Interdisciplinary database includes books and articles from scholarly publishers with a focus on the humanities and the social sciences.
International Medieval Bibliography
Access to the International Medieval Bibliography will no longer be provided by the Collins Memorial Library after December 31, 2020.
A multidisciplinary bibliography of Europe, North Africa and the Near East (300-1500), founded in 1967 with the aim of providing a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) worldwide.
Limited to 2 simultaneous users. Please LOGOUT when leaving the site.
Books on Reserve
Your professor has placed these books on reserve in Collins Library. To check out one of these books, just bring the title and call number of the book you need, plus your University of Puget Sound ID, to the Circulation Desk.
Associate Director for Public Services