Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SSI1-192: Elvis & MJ: The Image of the Kings: Articles

Where Do I Search?

A good starting point for academic work is one or more of the many databases available through the library's website. Databases provide access and content to sources that are generally not available on the open web through a general search engine like Google.

Every database contains only certain types and amounts of information. Which ones you choose depends on your purpose.

Multidisciplinary databases cover a wide variety of subject areas and may include a mix of popular and scholarly sources. They are good resources when you begin your research.  Academic Search Premier is an example of a multidisciplinary database.

Subject databases cover a specific discipline and provide the widest range of access to scholarly sources. They are used for in-depth research. International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text, a music database, is an example of a subject database. Which subject databases you search will be determined by who may be writing about your topic. Looking for articles about punk and feminism? In addition to International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text, search the Gender Studies database.

Database Search Tips

When search databases, keep these techniques in mind.

Quotation marks search for an exact phrase.

   "punk rock" finds results with that exact phrase.

   Without the quotation marks, you may also get punk and rock

Add more words when terms may be ambiguous or you want to narrow your search.

   "heavy metal" may find the musical genre but also fiinds metallic chemical elements.

   A better search is "heavy metal" and music or "heavy metal music"

Use OR to find related terms.

   "hip hop" or rap

Use an asterisk * to find variant word endings. Be careful not to shorten your word too much, because this can bring back results that are not relevant.

   politic* finds politics, politcal, politically, etc.

Database Practice

Choose one multidisciplinary database and one subject database.

Using the same search terms, look for articles about punk rock music or the group The Sex Pistols.

Compare the results you find in each database, including:

  • amount of information
  • subjects covered
  • types of sources, e.g., popular/scholary, primary/secondary

Multidisciplinary Databases

The databases listed below are examples of multidisciplinary finding aids.

Note: If you need discipline-specific resources, it is better to use the recommended subject databases under the "articles" tab in the library subject guides

Subject Databases: Humanities & Performing Arts

Also Try...

This listing of databases includes articles from magazines and newspapers

Using Primo to find a Journal Article

Use Primo to find out if the full text of the following is available:

Duffett, Mark. "Multiple damnations: deconstructing the critical response to boy band phenomena." Popular Music History 7, no. 2 (August 2012): 185-197.

Tipasa: Interlibrary Loan

If your article is not available at Collins Library, you've got another option to getting it. Use Tipasa, our interlibrary loan service.

You'll need to set up an account the first time you use it and log in subsequently.

Once you have an account, either go directly to Tipasa and manually enter the information, or, if you're using a database, look for a shortcut link to automatically fill out the form, like this:

Interlibrary Loan Link

Allow at least a week for the article to come. If your  article is delivered in electronic format, you'll receive an email with a link to follow as soon as it's arrived. If it's delivered in paper, you'll receive it right in your campus mailbox.