Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Tips, Tools, and Help with Writing and Citing
Citations are key to participating in the scholarly community. They are a way to converse with other scholars, but they also:
- Give fair credit to others for their ideas, creations, and expressions.
- Back up claims and statements.
- Provide a way for an interested reader to learn more.
- Support academic integrity.
Consult Citation Tools to learn more about different citation styles. Collins Library also supports two knowledge management tools: RefWorks and Zotero.
The Chicago Manual of Style is most commonly used in music, but it's best to check with your instructor to determined what is preferred.
The library has two quick guides to the Chicago Manual of Style (16th edition):
There are also two research management tools used to organize and cite sources:
An online research management, writing and collaboration tool designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies.
A knowledge management tool.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
Call Number: Electronic Resource
The Chicago Manual of Style Online is completely searchable and easy to use, providing quick answers to your style and editing questions. The Q&A content is fully searchable along with the content of The Chicago Manual of Style. The Chicago Manual of Style Online also provides convenient Tools, such as sample forms, letters, and style sheets.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Call Number: Print Books LB2369 .T8 2013
Publication Date: 2013-04-03
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations has been fully revised to meet the needs of today's writers and researchers. The Manual retains its familiar three-part structure, beginning with an overview of the steps in the research and writing process, including formulating questions, reading critically, building arguments, and revising drafts. Part II provides an overview of citation practices with detailed information on the two main scholarly citation styles (notes-bibliography and author-date), an array of source types with contemporary examples, and detailed guidance on citing online resources. The final section treats all matters of editorial style, with advice on punctuation, capitalization, spelling, abbreviations, table formatting, and the use of quotations.
A Style and Usage Guide to Writing about Music by
Call Number: ML3797 .D76 2010 Reference (Main Floor)
A collection of guidelines to help express through the written word the special notations, terms, and concepts found in the discipline of music.
Sound Writing is the official writing handbook on campus, written by student writing advisors and specifically tailored to the needs of Puget Sound students and their faculty.
In addition to supporting the development of successful academic writing skills, Sound Writing also includes sections on research methods, writing in the disciplines, and more.
Sound Writing provides help with three citation styles: MLA, APA, and Chicago (notes & bibliography).
Current Edition: 2020
Get Help at CWLT
The Center for Writing, Learning and Teaching (CWLT), located in Howarth 109, offers students opportunities to get help on all aspects of the writing process. Services include:
who are selected through a rigorous application process and who are specially trained to help students get started on a paper, organize their thoughts, or improve their editing skills.
- Peer Tutors in a wide range of subjects who are nominated by professors in their disciplines and who are specially trained to help students individually or in small groups.
- Student Accessibilty & Accomodation offers help in arranging accommodations.
Annotated Bibliography: Definition & Purpose
An annotated bibliography is a summary and evaluation of sources used. It may also include works you consulted during the research process but did not use.
Keep in mind that an abstract is not an annotation. An abstract is a summary of the source.
Why write an annotated bibliography?
- Keeps track of source materials consulted
- Lets the reader know what you have found
- Demonstrates your ability to critically evaluate sources within the context of a topic
Anatomy of an Annotated Bibliography
An Annotated Bibliography consists of these parts:
- Complete citation
Write the annotation in complete sentences. If you quote text from the source, you must cite it. The average length of an annotation is about 100-150 words (about 7-10 sentences).
Using Bibliographies as Shortcuts
If you find a relevant source on your topic, look at the bibliography to quickly locate additional reliable sources.
Example from an article published in the journal Popular Music History:
Start with these sources about academic integrity, but don't hesitate to ask a librarian or your instructor if you have further questions.