Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

GQS 494: Gender Research Seminar: Primary Sources

Primary Sources

Primary sources for your thesis will vary depending on your topic and your approach. The examples and collections listed below are just a sampling; ask Katy for help in identifying additional primary sources.

Archives of Sexuality & Gender

Archives of Sexuality and Gender logo

Including:  
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I
LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part II
Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century

LGBT Thought & Culture

LGBT Thought and Culture database logo

Primary Sources: Subject Collections

Online Collections

This is only a sampling of the collections out there, just to get you started! Find more links to website, digital collections and primary sources online on the subject guide for GQS.

Archives & Special Collections Hours

Spring 2020 update:

The Archives & Special Collections is currently unable to host in-person researchers. If you need assistance or would like to set up a virtual appointment, please email us at archives@pugetsound.edu.

A small selection of digitized material from the Archives & Special Collections is available online 24/7.

Visiting the Archives & Special Collections

In addition to open hours, the Archives & Special Collections are available by appointment.  A few things to be aware of when visiting the Archives & Special Collections:

  • Materials in the Archives & Special Collections do not circulate.  They are available for use only in the Archives & Special Collections.
  • No food or drink is allowed in the Archives & Special Collections.
  • Pencil only, no pens.  We have pencils available if you forget to bring one.
  • Laptops are permitted.
  • Phones and cameras may be used with the permission of the Archivist.

Search Primo

Finding Primary Sources with Primo

Library of Congress Subject Headings are also quite useful for discovering primary sources. The following subheadings usually are added to indicate that the material is a primary source: sources, personal narratives, correspondence, diaries, manuscripts, "early works to 1800" or notebooks.  Once you've discovered the subject heading for secondary sources, try adding one of the primary source subheadings to see what you find.  Here's an example:

Secondary source subject heading: Gay liberation movement -- United States -- History
Primary source subject heading: Gay liberation movement  -- United States -- History -- Sources

Streaming Media: Academic Video Online (AVON)

Academic Video Online logo

 

Academic Video Online is a streaming video service, which provides access to a broad spectrum of educational and documentary content, spanning subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.

The following Channels provide a selection of documentaries and other videos on the topics of gender and sexuality hosted through AVON.

Featured Resources for Data

News Databases

Need Help?

This subject guide highlights only a small portion of the many resources available to you. If you're not finding what you need, don't hesitate to contact Katy!

Katy Curtis, Humanities Librarian
email: kcurtis@pugetsound.edu
Schedule an appointment
tel: (253) 879-3672
office: Collins Library 140

If you can't find Katy, remember there are several ways to get help with your research

For immediate assistance, connect to our 24/7 Ask a Librarian chat service.