Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

STS 340: Finding Order in Nature: Scholarly Articles

E-Journal Collections

These e-journal collections provide access to many journals in the field of History of Science, but they have limitations in coverage.  (JSTOR, for example, does not contain the most current scholarship.)  In most cases, it's better to search subject databases to identify articles, and then use Primo Journal Search to link to the materials in these e-journal collections.

Recommended Subject Database

There are hundreds of specialized databases from which to choose when you are seeking scholarly work. For this course, you most likely will want to start your search with the History of Science, Technology and Medicine database.

Depending on which scientific controversy you've chosen, you may also want to search the recommended databases for Bioethics, History, or Environmental Sciences.  

Database Search Tips

Always use the advanced search interface and some combination of the following techniques to increase the effectiveness of your searches:

Search Technique   What It Does
quotation marks Searches for exact phrase
Truncation (usually an *) Searches for all forms of a word
Boolean operators (AND, OR, NOT) Lets you broaden or narrow your search
Database thesaurus or index             Allows you to pinpoint the exact indexing terms the database uses